help exchange   Host 30582
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 22
Persons: 2 or 4 max
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 30582
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 26, 2019

Gardening, animal care, wood and construction work,... and all kind of outdoor jobs.

To go further with our project, we would need people who are used to the outdoor and physical jobs.
Also mechanical and building skills would be very welcome :)

A fantastic site, a crazy project, animals in every corner and two eccentrics in search of an improbable conversion. Here's what you'll find in the middle of the ruins of a medieval castle and its outbuildings.
We left Britanny to the Hautes-Pyrénées six years ago, to begin this life project as ambitious as exciting. With our garden and animals, we try to develop an educational farm, as well as a association to save the ruins of the chateau!

Located 450m above sea level in the Pyrenean foothills, our little corner of paradise requires numerous works of all kinds to regain its former glory and to adapt to future projects: land clearing and building, logging, preservation of stone walls, development of livestock buildings and places of life ... in short, a work of many lives that we began for the rest of both ours.
There's no luxury, no excessive mechanization, limited means, but a warm welcome and plenty of goodwill.

The work is at an early stage, so you will have plenty of possibilites to use your skills and have a nice time.
We welcome you all year, French by birth, we are talking an English and a Spanish rather average, but associated with our posturing, we will understand each other without problems.
The basic work hours will be about 4h a day, 5 days a week. Of course it is not forbidden to work more :)).
For your time off, we have 2 mountain bikes that you can use whenever you want. The sourroundings are full of activities (walks, mountains, caves, ski, ...). The first city is at about 20 min by car, but there is many tipical villages all around.

You will be a part of the family and you will leave and eat with us. Our house is not very luxury as it is not renovated for now! But all we have you will have it also! :)
Those who wish can camp, we can lend a tent.

To come it is very easy: train, plane, car. We can even pick you up at Lannemezan or Tarbes if you want.

We hope to see you soon,
Contact us by email if you want more details, or by phone (we are less comfortable on the phone). :)
Jean-François et Marie-Anne

reviews (7)
Helper: William Carbajal Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Guatemala Date: November 11, 2018
Thanks to Jean-Francois and Marie-Anne for hosting me for over two weeks, I ... view complete review

Helper: Gabriela Komar Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Poland Date: January 27, 2018
I spent with Jean-Francois and Marie-Anne wonderful three weeks in September.... view complete review

Helper: Daniel TAYLOR Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 27, 2017
I only spent a week at the château-I originally thought I would be staying he... view complete review

Helper: Thomas Fossen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: November 21, 2016
I've been staying for 6 weeks at the Chateau in Lomne and it have been 6 very... view complete review

Helper: Malene Schøler Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Denmark Date: January 7, 2016
I spend two weeks of my summer at this lovely place. Jean-François and Marie-... view complete review

Helper: Christine and Raul Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: August 3, 2015
Chez Jean-François et Marie-Anne nous avons passé dix jours très agréables. ... view complete review

Helper: Bernat Vacz Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hungary Date: November 14, 2014
I've spent almost 3 months here. This area is pure green nature that really w... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use