help exchange   Host 30759
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 30759
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 19, 2017

Hi there
We are Vicki, Carina, Oli, Freya and Isla, and we moved from Bristol 3 and a half years ago to this lovely valley that lies on the borders of England and Wales (known as the Border Country). We wanted the opportunity to develop productive and creative spaces on the land and to give our children/grandchildren a more rural childhood. We brought with us, Esme, an elderly cat.

We would welcome anyone with a passion for being outdoors and who wants to get stuck in and involved with our various physical projects. A couple would be ideal but anyone who is motivated, confident and strong would be a great help.

Specifically we need help with a range of garden and domestic projects; landscaping work to finish off a building project, clearing trees and rubble; re-finding the pathways that meander through woods and up the steep sided banks of our stream.
It is also a busy time of year in the vegetable garden, starting off lots of seeds in the polytunnel, planting out, turning the compost and preparing the soil for the year ahead. Our raised beds need renewing too.
We would also welcome help with some cooking and any other light household duties that arise.

We aim to approach all aspects of the work with a mind to ecological impact and sustainability and are interested in a permaculture approach to the gardening. We would welcome any thoughts, ideas, experience you may have. We really value the opportunity to share the work and joy of the land and welcome people from all backgrounds to give diversity and depth to the project.

We have a lovely house divided into two to house us as two families. Vicki on the one side, Oli and Nina and the girls in the other. Your accommodation would be in a double room (loft room) in the larger part of the house.

We have woodland and streams and access to many beautiful walks. The nearest shop is 2.5 miles away and is a comfortable cycle ride, we will assist with transport during leisure time. Please note: there is no mobile phone signal at the property but there is internet access.

We are pretty flexible and, while we really would appreciate the extra help, it is important to us that you enjoy your time. We will do all we can to help that be the case. Our aim is to live simply but comfortably and to treat each other with kindness and respect.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use