help exchange   Host 30877
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Shoreham by Sea
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or2
Category: Boat
Host ID: 30877
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 26, 2018

I will not currently be needing any volunteers until Spring 2019 at the earliest.

Shoreham by Sea is on the south coast 6 miles west of Brighton. The houseboat moorings are on tidal mudflats and accessible from the towpath. The sea is less than 200 yards and is popular with kite and windsurfers.

The work is all involved with the maintenance and renovation of historic boats which are mostly used as houseboat accommodation. I use a minimum of new materials, aiming to create environment friendly, aesthetically pleasing and ergonomically functional living spaces. I currently am responsible for 7 boats over 30 foot and struggling with the work load. The joy of working with houseboats, (especially ours where we own our mooring plots) is that they are not subject to planning permission or buildings regulations. This allows for freedom in design which has greatly influenced my constructional style.

My design criteria are both aesthetic and engineered. I like to think my work has artistic merit but how it works, the engineering bit is equally important and I am inclined to think we place too much merit on the former at the expense of the latter.

Much of this work is quite physical with a fair bit of lifting. Previous building experience would be much valued, an enthusiastic attitude and the ability to work both on your own initiative and as part of a team.

The accommodation is on Verda, a former Gosport/Portsmouth ferry. built 1929 and comprises one bedroom that can sleep up to three and/or a sectioned off part of the main living area which is of a temporary nature. Verda is non smoking. We tend to share the cooking and your contribution would be much appreciated. I would be looking for 20 hours work a week, times negotiable but often determined by tidal constraints.

12th June, 2016
I am presently looking for a volunteer from the start July to assist with the rejuvination of my main boat Verda. This will involve a fair amount of fibre glassing and working of scaffolding, wading about in mud. Not for the faint hearted. Previous construction experience a distinct preference. The accommodation will be in a room shared with my long term Basque volunteer Xavier
which dictates male applicants. I will be away until 21st June so will probably not get the opportunity to answer emails until then.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use