help exchange   Host 31274
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sexsmith
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 55 hectares
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31274
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 27, 2020

Hello happy travellers!

We live in rural northern Alberta. We have 6 children at home with us, ages 5 years to 13 years. We live on a small farm and have a garden, horses and 2 cows, chickens, cat and dogs. We love young people and hosting people from other countries and the experience of making the world more real to our children.

Our children are accepting, friendly, and mischievous too. We are looking to exchange room and board for about 4 hours of help with the various indoor or outdoor tasks plus another 30 minutes or so of helping clean up in the kitchen after supper.

We regularly attend church on Sundays. You are welcome to join us if you wish. We have lots of space to roam. We also have a dugout for swimming and kayaks to use in the summer. Snowshoes in the winter. In the winter on clear cold nights you may be lucky enough to see the magical Northern Lights. Winter and summer, our skies are always beautiful.

Trips to town are only about two to four times a month and you are welcome to join us on most outings we do as a family. We do not smoke in our home.

The space we have for you to stay in is perfect for one person or a couple. We have one private room available and one semiprivate room. You have a semi private bathroom. Access to internet. We live about 10 minute drive from the closest small town and 40 minutes to Grande Prairie, a larger town with bus station and airport. We would be happy to pick you up and take you back to the bus or airport when needed. We speak English in our home but I (Anella) speak French as well as English. The children love to learn words in other languages and about the culture helpers come from. When you are with us we will respect you and treat you as part of our family. We expect to be respected in return.

Meals are simple and casual, but nutritious. Breakfast and lunch is often come and go while supper is usually a family meal at the table all together.

If you are wanting to get off the beaten path and join our large Canadian family for a few weeks and play legos, mop the floor, snowshoe, jump on the trampoline, wash dishes, work in the garden, roast hot dogs over a fire, mow the lawn, pick weeds, walk in our fields and forest and just be a part of our family for awhile then feel welcome to contact us. You must love being with children to stay with us as our children ave always enjoyed the helpers that have stayed with us.

We look forward to hearing from you.

reviews (13)
Helper: Minji Y Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Korea, South Date: January 19, 2020
I spent 6 weeks with jantz family and the only thing i can say is ‘L.O.V.E.L.... view complete review

Helper: Yanan Chen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: November 5, 2019
I am so lucky to meet a family which full of love for my first helper experie... view complete review

Helper: Karen la storia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 21, 2018
I spent a month with Jantz family (from mid-June to mid-July) and It was for ... view complete review

Helper: Damien FERRARI Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 8, 2018
I have just left JANTZ family and I can't forget this month and a half spent ... view complete review

Helper: Jenny Ong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 23, 2017
The Jantz family is the perfect host for anyone who'd like to be part of a tr... view complete review

Helper: Luc TEIXEIRA Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 10, 2017
La famille Jantz fût mes premiers hôtes et de loin la meilleur. Ils sont gent... view complete review

Helper: Vincent Schroettle Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 14, 2017
I finally come around to writing a review for those awesome guys! I stayed wi... view complete review

Helper: Jean-gabriel Séguin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: October 21, 2016
It's simple. It's awesome. It's true. It's Jantz family ! I had a great t... view complete review

Helper: Alicia Barbaria Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 11, 2016
J'ai passé un mois chez la famille Jantz. Très attachants, ils ont tous su ... view complete review

Helper: Elvis EDMOND Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 26, 2015
I spent almost 3 weeks with Jantz's family! What a great time! I felt so comf... view complete review

Helper: roman cordier Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 25, 2015
I stayed there for 45 days and each days was different This was my first exp... view complete review

Helper: Marine Delaruelle Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 7, 2015
What to say? I spent 4 weeks with this family that became mine. I couldn't ex... view complete review

Helper: Letourneau ghyslain Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 18, 2014
Une experience incroyable si vous voulez vivre dans la campagne n'hésitez plu... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use