help exchange   Host 31413
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Metchosin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5 acres
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31413
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 18, 2019

Hello there, and welcome to Vancouver Island:)

We are currently taking a break from hosting, and will be accepting people in the spring of 2020 -april and may. Thank you!

We are a small family living in a beautiful wooded 5 acres property on the west shore of Victoria in a farming community called Metchosin. We share our property with another young family of four and we focus on creating a sense of community here!

We are looking for a helper to share in the experience of life, food, culture and fun and be a part of our family for 1-2 weeks. (longer stays may be possible as well). We are looking for non-smokers, motivated and energetic individuals. We miss our traveling days, and so we love to meet people from around the world. It has been such a positive experience for our 6 year old daughter.

We offer your own room with a double bed, wifi, yummy organic food & snacks and use of our bikes. We eat a gluten-free diet, though can supply wheat bread, etc for you. We eat meat, though are also open to vegetarians...who like to cook and help with meal preparation! We also have two guinea pigs and six fish.

We are looking for people interested in contributing 5-6 hours per day, and we are open to trade our skills to you as well....yoga, thai massage, cranial sacral massage are a few things we have to offer!

Now that it is spring, we are looking for help with:
-weeding, creating new garden beds, moving soil and mulch
-taking care of the garden - vegetables & flowers
-trail maintenance in the forest
-clearing brush and broom (invasive plants)
-driveway maintenance
-housework - general cleaning, windows, deck, etc
-cooking & baking
-staining fences and deck
-playing with our daughter!

We have 100 acres of trails and forest behind our home, are a 7 minute walk to a lovely swimming lake, and a 5 minute bike ride to the ocean. Metchosin is full of farms, trails and beautiful places to explore. It is 30 minutes from downtown Victoria, 10 minutes to East Sooke Park and 20 minutes to the town of Sooke. We have bikes available for you as we are NOT on a bus route. There are plenty of buses that are a 5 minute bike ride away, and you can store your bike on the bus to travel around. We also go into Langford, or Victoria for work and so carpooling is available.

We are really enjoying the HelpX experience so far and we look forward to hearing from you. We took a short break during 2018 due to some family needs, and are super excited to host and meet new people again!
p.s. our new pics are not loading well, I'm happy to send you a recent pic of us:)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use