help exchange   Host 31533
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Malgrat de Mar
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31533
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 8, 2019

*** no place available this year ***

Hi! my name is Richard and I live with my daughter and my beagles Mats and Bimba at the Costa Brava (Costa Maresme) in the nice village of Malgrat de Mar. It is a comfortable 3-bedroom apartment, with a large terrace and direct access to the swimming pool. You will have your own room. There are 2 bathrooms. Malgrat is a non-touristic and lively village. My daughter, Jules is 9 and she goes to school here.
I work as a property manager (my own business), so I take care of other people’s properties.
Besides the property management (mostly called holiday rentals) I am working on a world wide portal for the wellness and well-being hospitality industry, bookyourwellness.com.

For this project i am looking for a (web) designer, preferably with experience in Java script, Bootstrap and/or Jquery and/or a programmer.

Other help is also very welcome, which is taking care of the house, cooking, walking the dogs, shopping, you name it.

Before I came here, I travelled with an old camper van in Scandinavia and Europe and have been on some house-sitting jobs and other volunteer jobs myself.
The tourist industry is growing again and there is a need for taking care "the Dutch way" of properties.
Who am I? Non-smoker, I enjoy life! open minded, organized (sometimes!), calm, always trying to help other people and I enjoy meeting new people, making friends and connections.
I like to talk about the world, with good company, enjoying cooking, having a beer.
The work (what is work? It can by; helping around the house or it can be working on the ideas and developing and maintaining the websites and taking care of Mats and Bimba, my beagles needto be walked and taken care of.
Everything we do has to be planned "around" the daily program of Jules, my daughter. She is the most important job in the house.
We organise a schedule to divide the normal household duties; like in your own home.
What’s to do in Malgrat ?
You can hike and bike, mountains and lots of nature just around the corner.
Go to the beach, surf, kiting, sailing, swimming, diving, running, the beach is enormous.
There is a well-equipped gym with an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool (own expenses).
Language courses; lots of possibilities (we can talk about expenses)
Lots of cultural locations to visit. Barcelona is 1 hour and 20 minutes by train (5 € to get there and 5 € to get back), beautiful train ride direct at the coast.
Here in Spain we work 6 days per week but in principal we relax in the weekend.
If you are studying or have an interest in the tourist industry in Spain then this is a good experience for you.
Any experience with (internet) marketing, or other related experience is welcome. Maybe you have an idea you want to work on.

Besides building a business there can be from time to time work in the properties, which can be; gardening, maintenance, cleaning etcetera, like you do with your house. But only in summer time. In other seasons not much is happening in the rentals.
Jules mother (Sabine) lives nearby and we organise who is taking care of Jules and when.
I speak Dutch, English, German and basic Spanish. If you speak (some) Spanish it is a plus. It is a good place to learn the language.
You will have your own room, I have a car, a scooter and a bike which we can share. The beach is 5 minutes walking. Nice bars all around. Malgrat is a real Spanish not so touristic village with a rich cultural life all year.
Interested? questions? ideas? suggestions? please ask!

*** I have ONLY place for 1 person, NO COUPLES, occasionally 1 adult with a child can apply ***

Best regards,
Richard, Jules, Mats and Bimba

reviews (11)
Helper: Stacey synnott Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: August 24, 2019
sorry for so late Richard thank you for my review :) I had an amazing time ... view complete review

Helper: Natalia Rincón Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Colombia Date: November 4, 2018
It was my first experience as Helper, as nervous and excited as i can be and ... view complete review

Helper: Tatiana Martynova Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: June 3, 2018
Hello to everybody! I was staying in Richard´s house 2d time in september of... view complete review

Helper: Stephanie Kniest Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 30, 2016
My stay with Richard was my very first helpX experience and it was great. Ric... view complete review

Helper: Tatiana Martynova Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: October 29, 2016
Hello to everybody! If you thinking about going to Richard's house, don't th... view complete review

Helper: Sirpa Nevala Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Finland Date: September 22, 2016
I stayed in Richards house two months in summer and I had a great time there.... view complete review

Helper: Tereza Gerslova Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: July 5, 2015
Richard is very nice and "cool" hollandaise man mixed with spanish "poco loco... view complete review

Helper: Julie moynihan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: April 18, 2015
I stayed with Richard & Jules for about 2 months. Richard is relaxed, very he... view complete review

Helper: Anna Sommer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 18, 2015
I was very happy to have been able to spontaniously spent one week at Richard... view complete review

Helper: Vincent Krijthe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: December 17, 2014
Since september 2014 I've stayed with Richard, Jules and Matts. Richard is gr... view complete review

Helper: Léa MacKechnie-Blais Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: November 16, 2014
I stayed with Richard and Jules for a month. I really had a great time. The w... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use