help exchange   Host 31895
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Glenorchy
All Year: November to april
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 31895
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 7, 2020

A new season is luring around the corner and we are getting ready for it! Will YOU come and join us? Homegrown Glenorchy (Facebook) as we know of does not exist anymore…unfortunately we had to leave the old garden grounds but are excited to have found a new plot to play big. Let’s start again on a 2h hillside to create Permaculture goodness and self sustainable gardens but this time for good! Would you be interested in joining the Team in season 2019-2020?
Breaking in new land means a lot of work, the past garden has taken us 8-10 years in the making…meaning, with being on the front line of this new project, we need you to be fit and firm in walking, lifting and shifting…we on a hill side now and going up and down is a daily task. Unfortunately, all accommodation will be held in tents this season, new huts and shelters have first to be re-created. Therefore, it would be good if you flexible and okay with spending lots of time outdoors!
Most groundbreaking work at the start of a permaculture development has to do with physical activities. Digging, pulling, lifting, shifting, raking, carying, pushing…. Are you strong or want to get strong? We will keep you fit !!
What task do we offer?
- Garden development: creating growing spaces/ making soils/ planting/ harvesting
- Creating spaces: sheds/ campsites/ huts/ walkways/shelters
- Gathering Resources: Firewood/ garden materials/ plants & trees/ building materials
- General Maintenance: Weeding by hand and machine/ tidying & cleaning
- Childcare: of our daughter (1.5years)
You get a great opportunity to explore `living of the land` with magnificent views! Get insight into developing new growing spaces and what to look out for when re-shaping a landscape. Learn the traits of seasonal gardening in an alpine climate with extreme summer heat/Crop rotation/ intercropping/ Companion Planting and lots more. You will get ideas how to create a healthy lifestyle through natural plant food, herbs and eatable weeds. I hope my way of using recyclables and natural resources will inspire you to view the world more abundant & resourceful. We are also happy to explore your own personal development needs and assist in your path of inner growth, creating health within your body and mind, so come and unfold your potential!

Considering we have such a diversity of jobs we like you to apply with your interests, expectations and skill set! We focus on a minimum stay of 8 days; longer stays will always be preferred. If you able to stay 6-8weeks you will be getting the chance to do some real cool projects! We can cater for Vegetarians but not always for Vegans and GF, that depends on seasonal timing and my flexibility as a mum so please communicate beforehand – much appreciated.
Because we are in the early stages of a lifelong creation, we are seeking `general labour` and `skilled talents`. If you got any of the below listed trades in your skill set please apply with some examples of the projects you worked on so we get an idea of how to use your talents best.

- Small groundwork’s machinery e.g. little digger to do landscaping
- Basic Carpentry to construct animal shelters/ sheds and other basic structures
- Fencing and digging
- Sketch and computer design to map out and visual present landscape
- Permaculture design
- Arborist or skilled chainsaw usage
- Childcare

Don’t hesitate to apply if you haven`t got these skills; there is plenty of work for all kinds of talents. Just be aware that it will be outdoors and mainly physical labour…so if you too precious this is not for you!

I also like to mention, that we ourselves live on very basic grounds. Our family accommodation is small but will cater for our joint meals and shared shower facilities. Because we have a little daughter our evenings are usually quiet and can end early. This can mean you have to entertain yourself in your ten, surrounding nature or Glenorchy Township. Traveling in your own car would give you more flexibility but is not a `must have`. We are happy to pick you up from Glenorchy Town at time of your arrival (Mrs. Woolly’s General Store/ Beside Camping ground).
The ability to work responsible and unsupervised is a must and if you not happy in your own space there won’t be much joy here for you. We also prefer an Electromagnetic free space as much as possible…meaning: YOUR WIFI DEVICES should stay behind when we work and socialize and should only be used in your private time and away from our house. Thank you

Well, let’s have some fun, create and be in this incredible new place and see what we can achieve with joint forces…Many thankx

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use