help exchange   Host 32324
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Kaitaia Northland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 25
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 32324
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 27, 2020

We are a vegetarian family with school aged children (13 and 15) and are located in a picturesque valley by a rocky bottomed river. We share our land with 4 horses, pigs, dogs, ducks and chooks.

We are currently seeking a mature, experienced person to help in the garden - weeding, mulching; general housework, animal care/feeding, walking the dogs. The animals are our first priority so you must like dogs especially and be able to exercise them twice daily. Feeding horses and checking on water regularly also.

Meals and snacks are included. Work is 4 hours daily plus the evening dishes. You will need to be able to work independantly on the days that we are at work.

We are passionate about preserving our environment have covenanted most of the forested areas of our land under the QE2 Trust.

Being good hosts is important to us and we value the extra help and having the "world come into our home" by hosting volunteers. It is a great experience for our kids.

We appreciate it if helpers show motivation, and are conscientious and become a part of our family by pitching in.

Helpers that are able to use initiative are like gods to hosts, kidding .... sort of! We worship anyone that noticed something needed doing and does it particularly if they haven't had much work to do.

We are situated 20 minutes drive from beautiful east coast beaches and 35 minutes from Kaitaia township where we shop. Helpers without a car usually catch a bus to Taipa where we can pick them up.

If you have a car we encourage you to take a day or two out and head up the coast and camp in one the many cheap beachside campgrounds on the way to the Cape.

We potter about alot at home with the kids and pets, there is always something to do! There are lovely bush walks in this valley and a river to swim in.

Julien is a secondary school art teacher and enjoys sailing. I work as a teacher at the local preschool and like spending time pottering about at home.

Other work varies and may include, feeding animals, preparing garden beds, orchard maintenance, building, exterior house painting, lawn mowing, weeding gardens, collecting horse manure, collecting and stacking firewood, housework, cooking and plenty more.

Gloves, sunhat, old clothes, sunblock and insect repellent are recommended. Gumboots in Autumn and Spring are important.

I recommend helpers shop for any extras (treats and toiletries) before coming as we are not walking distance to any shops and drive to town once a week.

We do not mind if you are learning english but it is important that you are sociable rather than very quiet! We value a sense of humour and enjoy conversations with our guests.

Our household is busy but our attitude is relaxed, you will have plenty of opportunity to just chill out and will be treated like a member of the family. We have LOTS of pets so if you like animals you will enjoy your stay!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use