help exchange   Host 33189
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


RD2 Kerikeri
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 61
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 33189
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 5, 2019

Hi Helpxers. Wecome to the Far North, an ideal place to begin your New Zealand experience by starting at the top and systematically working south in a way that lets you see it all. Our property, a large multi purpose farm, is situated close to many of the Far North's beautiful east coast beaches, Kauri forests, ninety mile beach on the West Coast, less than a day's return visit to Cape Reinga, forty minutes drive from Paihia or Manganui, and fifteen minutes drive from Kerikeri. Tour buses to ninety mile beach, West Coast sand hills, the Kauri Kingdom and Cape Reinga can be boarded from Waipapa and Paihia (we can drive you to and pick you up from the Waipapa pick up stop).
Apart from those more northerly attractions there are many beautiful walks around Kerikeri itself, and of course the local waterfalls - all of which we are pleased to show you and take you to. Work here is 20 hours per week, normally four hours each morning five days a week - but can be made up any way that suits all of us and allows for flexibility so that Helpxers can explore the immediate area, the Bay of Islands and the far North etc if they wish to do so. A minimum 14 day stay is available (though many helpx folk stay longer) for either a solo male, a solo female, or a mixed gender couple. At present we have availibility for Helpxers from 23rd September 2019 until 21st December 2019 in fortnightly or longer time frames. And,in the same time frames, 5th January 2020 until mid November 2020. A reasonable ability to converse in English is required.
The Helpxer will help both host and hostess around main house, grounds and flower/vegetable gardens of the large farm. The work is varied and interesting and depending on the season could include gardening, weeding, fencing, making concrete, building, path construction, brick laying, paver laying, helping with meal preparation, pruning and grafting. Previous experience is not necessary - but willingness and a strong desire to learn new skills is. All food and accommodation is supplied in exchange for the 20 hours of help a week. We do not cater for specific gluten free, vegetarian, pescatarian, or vegan based diets - but do provide balanced, healthy, tasty meals with loads of fresh fruit and vegetables included.
Main house, grounds and garden include small orchard of many different kinds of fruit trees, large flower and vegetable gardens, full International sized petanque piste, heavy duty free weights gymnasium, seven bay shed, concept 2 indoor rower, outdoor chess and other games and entertainments. Helpers have full free time use of all such facilities with (if desired) free instruction and training from Host - a former three sport National Champion. Helpers live in with host family.
In addition to meals and accommodation, Helpxers have access to TV, DVD`s, library, washing machine, indoor and outdoor clotheslines and drying racks, free wifi and internet. So come on up to the winterless North, join the crew and have yourself a ball - we are looking forward to meeting you. All the best - Bob and Colleen.


reviews (14)
Helper: Danielle and William Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: November 6, 2019
We had a wonderful two weeks staying with Bob and Colleen. They are one of th... view complete review

Helper: Benjamin and Manon Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 2, 2019
Hi Bob & Colleen, It was a real pleasure to meet you and to be part of you... view complete review

Helper: Anais Rinato Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 20, 2019
I write this comment a little late I apologize. I wanted to thank you, Bob ... view complete review

Helper: Mckenna Lee Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: June 7, 2019
Hello! I stayed with Bob and Colleen in May 2019 for nearly 3 weeks. I fell ... view complete review

Helper: Nick and Felicity Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: June 5, 2019
We stayed with Bob and Colleen for 2 weeks in May 2019. We can honestly say t... view complete review

Helper: Saskia Toppin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 9, 2019
Bob and Colleen are some of the kindest and most generous people I have ever ... view complete review

Helper: Susie Lajoie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: January 2, 2019
I stayed 6 weeks with Bob and Colleen. This is a good place to be if you love... view complete review

Helper: Jacquelynn Hellett Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 23, 2018
I stayed with Colleen and Bob for about a month, and I truly enjoyed my exper... view complete review

Helper: Thibeault Michel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France, Metropolitan Date: May 28, 2018
I stayed over a month with Bob and Colleen, it was a very good and inspiring ... view complete review

Helper: Thomas and Sara Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: April 21, 2018
This was our first Help-X and Bob & Colleen took us in as part of their famil... view complete review

Helper: Alicia CHAPON Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 9, 2018
Bob and Colleen are just amazing. They were perfect with me. They are like my... view complete review

Helper: Clémentine and Louis Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 18, 2017
It was our first homestay and we spend an amazing time with Bob&Colleen. At ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Tom Newman Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 1, 2015
My time spent with Bob & Colleen at their lovely home in the beautiful area s... view complete review

Helper: Tabea Meier Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 4, 2014
It was our first homestay and it was a great time at Bob and Colleens home. B... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use