help exchange   Host 33358
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Dauphin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 400
Persons: 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 33358
Region: Manitoba

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2018

Hi! We have room available for helpers year round, on our ranch. We have had to sell most of our cows in March. But we still have 12 horses on our farm. Volunteers are always welcome throughout the year and you can learn a lot about looking after animals, looking after fences, some gardening, yard work, house work, and whatever else is involved in ranching and maintaining one throughout the year. We own about 400 hectares of land, and make hay during summer months. Experience is not necessary, and it's not hard to learn here!

Many horses are also available, some were professionally broke for riding, others could use some training. Volunteers that ride and like to work with horses are always welcome too! There are plenty of bicycles to use here, in summer, and we are near the lake, if you like swimming, bonfires, or skating/playing hockey on our lake in winter.

If you like being around animals, and are energetic, enjoy working outdoors and want to experience quiet country living for a while, come join us! One of our helpers made a book for us, with over 80 recent reviews in the last 3 years, and you can view them in it, via our facebook link above.

Beds are available, in the downstairs of our home, with clean sheets/bedding when you arrive, and meals in our home, so you don't have to worry about anything. Clean up after meals and some house duties expected. You will be looked after, during your stay with us. If you want specialty diet foods or drinks, you are welcome to buy what you like in a nearby town. We have Internet with WIFI, for checking on your emails and Facebook. Occasional trips to town are available. (Friendly Dogs and cats in the house, and outside, so if you have allergies, or don't like these types of animals, it might not work for you) If you're interested in trying out a farmer's life for a while, you're welcome here!

reviews (5)
Helper: Isabel Sainz de Rozas de la Sern Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: April 16, 2018
After three experiences with helpx, I have some mixed feelings with this plac... view complete review

Helper: Camille and Alasdair Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: February 12, 2017
Last summer We spent 2 weeks at Christine's place. We were really happy to he... view complete review

Helper: Alina Neue Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 30, 2017
I spent a few days here. We were outside working from 8 to noon. Since it ... view complete review

Helper: Nathalie JOSSA Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 17, 2015
I spend two weeks and few days here and it was really a good experience. I le... view complete review

Helper: Roustan amandine Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 27, 2014
I spent 3 weeks with Christine, her husband Lawrence and her hired hand Arno... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use