help exchange   Host 33400
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


killarney
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 33400
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 25, 2019

We are a small family, with two young children. I am an English teacher, and tour guide, and speak fluent Italian and pretty good French. My husband Paddy is a wildlife conservation ranger.

We live in a white cottage in a big garden, in the Kerry mountains, a beautiful corner of Ireland, the Beara peninsula. It is on the Wild Atlantic Way, and has some of the most spectacular scenery you could ask for. Loads of hillwalking opportunities, and lots of ancient sites to visit - our peninsula has dozens of stone circles of various kinds. We can lend you a bike to explore. There are lakes nearby, and we are on the sea shore (but unfortunately no sandy beach nearby).

We live in an isolated area but can offer lifts to local towns, and further afield too as Paddy drives across West Cork a few times a week. There is also a local bus into Kenmare every morning.

Our helpers' accommodation is a private bedroom in our home. Bathroom facilities are shared. Free Wifi and use of our home as your own. Our home is warm and comfortable, with outdoor seating areas and a garden. Water is heated using solar panels and the wood burning stove in the living room.


We are looking for help with childcare (two boys, age 7 and 10), and occasional housework / pet sitting for a period of about six weeks from July1 - mid August 2019. This is flexible though, so if your dates don't quite match, come back to me.

If you are a couple, and one of you can also do outside work, that would be great. Help with gardening, building walls etc is very welcome.

We have had HelpX helpers several times now and found it a great success. Generally we ask for 4 hours help per day, and are happy to help you enjoy your stay in any way we can, organising lifts for you to local towns for example, and taking you around to see local sights (we live on the Ring of Beara, and the Ring of Kerry is close by). This is a great area for wildlife, with deer grazing in our garden regularly, hares, hedgehogs, even eagles nesting about 1 mile away. It's great for photography too, as the mountain views are breathtaking.

You must be a dog and cat lover to come here, we have two big friendly dogs and three cats. And some chickens. And there are sheep and lambs all around.

So if this sounds like you, please get in touch.

reviews (1)
Helper: Kyla and Noah Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: November 4, 2015
Where to begin?! Kyla and I had the most amazing time staying with Paddy and ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use