help exchange   Host 33837
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Grandola
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: Max 4 persons
Category: Hospitality
Host ID: 33837
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 9, 2020

From February till September help wanted :
We are looking for persons to help us prepare for the upcoming season. Work includes weeding trimming wheat trimming sanding & painting chainsawing vegetable gardening taking care of the dogs.
June, july & august cleaning, maintenance and check in couple. Bring your camper or caravan.


What we do?
Our main focus is on hosting this beautiful place for holidays and retreats for self-development. In the nearby future we wish to transform this unique piece of land into a platform of sustainable living, recreation and new forms of agriculture.

You are more than welcome to work and live here for a while on this beautiful small holiday and retreat center. It is a non-profit project and a nature resort.
We are looking for social people who have experience to work in other country's and in other communities. If you are a team player, have humor and are open minded you are a perfect match. We also value those who can work on on their own and we welcome those who have great ideas... If you resonate with this profile, then please feel free to contact us.

About us.
We are a modern thinking couple and already 5 years involved with this amazing project on 24 acres nature estate.
This paradise found us and we would like to share it with like-minded people who have a desire to work in the nature and are interested to help us develop this small paradise into an even more unique experience than it already is.

We are about 200 meters above sea level and only 5 kms from the city of Grandola and approx. 1 hr. and 15 minutes south from Lisbon and 30 min from the ocean. You will be surprised by the abundance of the variety in vegetation. The land host fertile soil and the valley is enriched by fruit, nut, cork and olive trees. There are 3 natural water-wells, one of which is still from the Roman times. From this well you can see the water directly flowing out of the earth. It is a magnificent place to meditate or do your yoga practices.

We are looking for interested and motivated people with initiative. All year round there are things to do. Other activities are planting vegetables, general upkeep, picking fruits, nuts and olives, pool cleaning, painting or collecting fire wood.
Online Marketing experiences are welcome too. If you have another skill that you would like to share with us we are open to listen to your ideas.

For June, July and August 2020 we are looking for a couple with a caravan or camper for living on the land so you can experience what it is to work and live in the countryside of Portugal. We are looking for help in maintenance, cleaning and hospitality. If you can sing or play guitar then you are soooo welcome to share your talent.

Volunteers work 6 hours a day, 5 days a week - You will be staying in a house during oktober-april
During working days, meals are provided or you can cook in your house or outdoor kitchen.

Wifi is available, and there are plenty comfortable and relaxing places to read or meditate.
And if you enjoy yoga, Susan is a great yoga teacher.

How to get here?
You can easily take the metro (5 minutes) from the airport Lisboa to the ‘Oriente’ train station in Lisbon (platform 6). From there you take the train to Grandola,(1.15) from where we will pick you up..

We are sure this will be an unforgettable experience!
If you make music or sing, please bring your instrument if you can…

We speak English, Dutch, German, French and until now only a few words Portuguese. During meal time the language what we speak is English.

Looking forward to hear from you.
Susan & Peter

reviews (5)
Helper: Jay Lyons Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: December 30, 2017
I met Peter and Marja in late September last year and we talked about a place... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Pascaline and Vincent Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 16, 2016
Maya and Peter have a very nice project related to “eco-glamping”. It is very... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Laura O'Callaghan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: September 15, 2015
This review is a little late. I here with Marja and Peter for a week in the m... view complete review

Helper: Jema Patterson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: June 11, 2015
I helped for a week at Olival das Hortas - a gorgeous, gorgeous place. I lov... view complete review

Helper: Ariel Aaronson Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Portugal Date: May 3, 2015
I have stayed with Marja and Peter for 2 weeks in March and I enjoyed my time... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use