help exchange   Host 3386
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Vila do Bispo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 3386
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 9, 2020

(LONG TERM) STAY self-sufficiently: Requested help per week on 4 mornings for 3h (12h/week) for accommodation but NO MEALS INCLUDED in one-room-house (1-2 p.) or 25qm tent (2-4 p.) with cooker. Or 3 mornings 3h (9h/week) bringing your own facility like van, tent or my mattress in an open private space. Or even only 3 mornings 2h (6h/week) living on your own in my eucalyptus forest - under a largely sunny, BLUE BLUE SKYYYYY!

Hello! My name is Heike, 53y, German native, speaking English, Portuguese and upgrading to Romanian and Spanish.

I live in an old farm house in a nice valley, 6 km to the next village/bus station, 2km to a famous Pizzaria, 20 km to Lagos, Algarve.
Extensive farming area, eucalyptus, pine, citrus.
Temperatures in winter -5/20C, summer 16/32C.

Both to West Coast and South Coast (surfers paradise!) it's 12km by car, nearest beach: west coast 7km on foot / by bike. Sometimes you can hear the sea...

I am offering you a calm place to stay for a longer period of time (minimum 2 weeks) by CARING FOR YOUR OWN FOOD and working in exchange for accommodation only 4 days per week 3 hours per day (2 days of work - 1 day off - 2 days of work - 2 days off).
Depending on my own occupation there are periods where I can offer lunch, too, in exchange of 5x 4h/week of help.

For accommodation I provide a separate room ("GreenHouse") with a cooker and a 1,40m wide bed for 1-2 people. Another option is a 20 m tent, also with cooker. Or just a cosy 1,40m bed with nice view in Ford Transit. Or simply an 1,40m mattress with roof and three walls, but also with great view :D

There is also a place in some distance to my house where you could dwell in your mobile home or tent. Or you even may clean for yourself an area in the eucalyptus forest with your own access and privacy (and give me a hand 6h/week).

> solar energy for one light, charging mobile phone, music...
> barbecue area
> 2 bikes available
> no mains water, but canisters and bucket, lake in 300m distance
> dry toilet, pee in the woods
> public washing machine 6 km far away
> little signal for mobile phone, Wi-Fi possible
> torch and mosquito net useful

I am not providing or searching for company, I like my peace. I am usually busy and have little time for myself or for keeping my place in order.
But of course we will have conversations from time to time :)

I like to live a simple life close to nature with my four dogs and several winged creatures. I eat mostly vegan, vegetarian, flexitarian... We are what we eat! No dogma. (Except with drugs: NO! And no-smoking would be good for my nerves, because of fire danger.)

I like reading, ethnic and electronic music, learning, psycology, philosophy, ethics... Skilful work, technology, electronic gadgets. Mindfulness and authenticity! And laughter :D


What help do I need?

Basic cleaning in and around the house from weeds, dust and mice is always required. Help for organizing the household is welcome.

Repairing clothes neat and nicely, making curtains, sofa covers etc. with my sewing machine?

A carpenter would be wonderful, making a roof above Transit sleeping car and finishing woodwork in the house.
A bird aviary in the living room.

Bathroom needs tiles on the wall and on the floor! Would be great if it finally comes to an end after years in progress...

Ford Transit needs solar energy supply to use it as my office. Have extra battery, solar panel, perhaps system to supply the extra battery also from car charger? Who knows about secure installation with fuses?

Computer related stuff like learning to backup or working with google Drive and Photos.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use