help exchange   Host 33921
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.2
Persons: 2 or 3 maximum
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 33921
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 15, 2018

Hi My son Blair has returned to Jersey for a time so i am here on my own and look forward to hearing from helpers to assist in DIY and light gardening and cooking , it would preferable to hear from the more mature helper with some experience. We now have two well behaved dogs great for walks three chickens eggs every day and a Fifi the cat all rescued.

Hello, bonjour!

My father and I moved to France from the small island of Jersey in the United Kingdom. We are a friendly and sociable small family of two people with many friends in the area. We speak English and better French everyday, we welcome all cultures.

We live in a quiet and rural place, but not too secluded. There is time to think, reflect, read, write, stimulate yourself creatively and relax. We have a shop, bar, restaurant and a social center. It is good for walking, cycling, horse riding (there is a local riding school) and other outdoor pursuits. I like to take trips out to the mountain nearby (sunrise and sunset not to be missed) and the nearby lake which is stunning. I also like to take trips to the beach whenever I can, there is good surfing and water sports on the north and west coast. Brittany is generally great for photography too as it is so beautiful, better still we live more or less in the middle of the largest national forest in Brittany, so I try to take my camera with me everywhere.

My father likes to visit the local bar on the weekend which is friendly and hosts concerts and open mic, there is also nightlife in the closest cites/towns i.e. Huelgoat, Carhaix, Morlaix etc. There are often events and fetes happening in the area but you must also know how to entertain yourself too when it is quiet! We have Wi-Fi, TV and the use of a laptop or computer if you need it. We are non smokers but we don't mind if you smoke outside.

We have the following jobs to do in the garden and house;

Preparing organic/biologique vegetable plot and raised beds
Creating an ornamental Japanese style garden
General garden care - lawns, fruit tree care and other jobs
Building a large open plan kitchen/lounge and bathroom/bedroom area in an extension at the back of the house
Painting the exterior of the house in the spring/summer
General cleaning and maintenance inside the house
Participating in cooking (we can teach you if you don't cook) and cleaning up afterwards
We will be working together alongside each other as much as possible
Not forgetting having a good time!

We have three chickens which are so far unamed so maybe you could think of something good, and two puppies - Lady Lucy and Smokey Joe! If you visit us please do not leave anything chewable lying around i.e. shoes etc as our puppies are still teething and being young pups they also enjoy barking sometimes! We are happy to let you walk the dogs when you please.

Jobs will differ in difficulty and generally we start the day at 9.30am, but sometimes later depending on how hard we have worked the day before. You will normally be working 6 hours a day, five days a week and we like to rest properly after a hard day. We may also need you for a few hours on the weekend but you are welcome to take trips out as well, of course you can join us on trips out too. We take breaks for lunch and dinner and eat a good breakfast. We do one food trip/supplies run a week on a Friday to the city of Carhaix. I also visit the village of Huelgoat for food which is closer if needed.

We have dry and warm accommodation - there is a room in the house for one person or a couple. Alternatively we have a caravan which is next to the house (see pics below), it is gas heated, has a small stove/grill etc). The caravan can fit one to three people, if you are an individual we prefer that you have your own private room but really it's up to you. You are welcome to bring a small pet as long as they are friendly with dogs and not too noisy or dirty. If you wish to bring your own camper van then there is plenty of space.

I am a vegetarian and I also eat a gluten and dairy free diet (it's not as bad as it sounds, I eat very well)! My father does not have any dietary requirements and is not a vegetarian so we can accommodate both styles....If you are vegan we can accommodate this as well. You are also welcome to cook and make tea or coffee whenever you please. We would like helpers to try and cook on the weekend, either for themselves or preferably for everyone.

We like to feed our helpers well with three main meals (either cooked by us or you) and small snacks, however if you are someone who eats more than that regularly we ask that you buy any additional food yourselves as we do not have unlimited money to spend on food! As the fruit and vegetable garden progresses we can become more flexible.

We are creative and love to play and listen to music, socialise and spend time outdoors in nature and we are trying to slowly become sustainable as possible. We have a long term view of becoming semi/completely off grid - the planet needs a helping hand! We would welcome anyone to come and stay with us not matter what your age or gender, as long as you are physically fit and above all MOTIVATED! It would be good to have someone with gardening/building skills or to have had some experience with these things in the past, but this is not always necessary.

Please do not come here if you are regularly lazy and unmotivated, I don't mean to offend anyone by saying that but we don't like freeloaders, we are kind and giving people and we expect the same in return that is all :) We reserve the right to ask anyone to leave and we will give them some time to find an alternative helpx host or other accommodation, but so far we have had great experiences and we have never had to ask anyone to leave - let's keep it that way.

At the moment we are accepting volunteers for 1 to 2 weeks, but you could be staying longer if we have enough work. Above all you will be made to feel welcome and we will enjoy your company. Please use the email or phone numbers provided to get in touch.

Thanks :)
Blair and Danny.

Update: The summer is here and the weather is HOT HOT HOT!

Update: Thank you to Richard and Mimmi for being such good workers. With their help we have dug the garden and have fixed two sides of the wall, on top of lots of other jobs they helped with we have very much enjoyed their time and company.

Update: Thanks to Tom and Valeriy we have now finished building a very long dry stone wall which in total has taken almost 6 months to finish. We have made some great progress with the veg garden and the garden is looking better and better. THANKS GUYS.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use