help exchange   Host 3422
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 3422
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 24, 2019

Hello! We live in an ancient fermette converted into holiday accommodation. The earliest map showing our place was printed in 1750, but the house pre-dates that by at least another 150 years, so it's old! We have 3 gites which are getting more popular as we develop our ideas (some mad, some not so mad) into fruition. We also own a small campsite which is getting more & more popular too..... We get extremely busy in spring and summer, so a stay in July/August is usually out of the question, and we're now steadily taking bookings for 2020 and beyond! So, we (my wife & I) need help with some gardening maintenance, painting, some renovation, fencing, as well as cleaning chores etc. We're a family business, pretty small, but very busy.
There's quiet village life not too far away, (5kms) and lots of countryside. We're pretty rural here, but we have good French friends as well as a few English friends too. Helpers must be up for living in a fairly remote locale, but there's plenty of scope for visiting other places locally. Bikes are available. We have a cat, and hens for fresh eggs! Work/play hours will be decided between us, but either mornings or afternoons, or all day. We're totally flexible, but we do need to get things done!
We'd prefer non-smokers, but smoking is allowed outside of the accommodation. We're not vegan or vegetarian, and do not feel sorry for those of you who are.

Your own transport is essential, as is your own form of accommodation - tent/camping car.

The first language here is English, but we do blabber in French from time to time. All three kids have left the familial home and we're now grandparents too! So we're out of home-grown slaves! Oh, we also have my wife's elderly, disabled mum here with us too. Though she's very quiet, except when she's had a glass of sherry!

If you'd like to know more, give us a call, or send an e-mail. If you'd like us to call you, then just leave a contact number and we'll get back to you asap!

Good old-fashioned Yorkshire hospitality is nailed on for the right people. Don't be shy, we don't bite! Although if you arrive without a box of PG Tips, you're making tea for the rest of your stay!

This isn't a farm-stay (though we do have hens). We don't grow anything (ok - tomatoes, herbs and grey hairs), and we don't do permaculture. This is a holiday complex - fun, friendly and as typically French as we can make it!


Help needed NOW! Immediate work involves painting and varnishing shutters/doors/windows etc. Some gardening, some interior decorating.


Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use