help exchange   Host 3428
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cutchogue
All Year: partial
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 3428
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 11, 2019

We are on the North Fork of Long Island in Wine Country, about 2 hours east of Manhattan. The region has more than 40 vineyards, numerous small farms and an abundance of arts and crafts. This is also a high end resort area in the Summer, well known for its white sandy beaches, fine dining, boating and restaurants serving local farm produce, local seafood and local wine. The area is served by limited train service, but does have an express coach service to Manhattan (Google Hampton Jitney North Fork around $40 return trip), also there are ferries to Shelter Island and the Hamptons (around 30 minutes) and Connecticut (1 hour), or you can drive to the Hamptons on the South Fork in about 35 - 60 minutes depending on time of year. Boston is 3 or 4 hours by ferry and train.

British and Brooklyn in the house :-) We need flexible help to lighten our workload - we both wear multiple hats. Some paid jobs plus hobbies and voluntary work - including real estate and property management, web design and development, social media, digital first response, HAM Radio, and Dennis works part time work for the Town in the ReUse Center. I am also trying to build upon my hobby farming to forage, cultivate and make healing herbs into products - amazing how well they work!

With a substantial home on nearly 3 acres to manage, and managing so many other things as well, it's hard to keep up, especially in late summer and fall, when crops need harvesting, drying, storing ready to be made into extracts.
Depending on your interests and talents, we have a range of jobs we can discuss that might be suitable in every season.

For 2019 from late August onwards, we are looking for help outside with homestead chores - weeding, watering, mowing, clearing, harvesting, dehydrating, seed saving, preserving food and healing herbs, making extracts, tinctures. We no longer have chickens, but we do have a very loving young cat, who is quite shy.

I'm not going to lie, we definitely need help this year with basic house cleaning. Although a contemporary home with fabulous wood floors throughout, it is large and has a lot of windows! We also need help with painting, both interior and exterior. Gutter cleaning too if you don't mind going up a ladder (no obligation)!

We also have longer terms goals, and have made a start on clearing some woods, but there are a lot of them. Interior projects include repainting the woodwork and doors, and a couple of rooms.

For those who are computer and tech savvy, here are the skillsets I could use:
*Creative Cloud - especially PS
*Wordpress - especially self hosted
*Photo Editing
*Google Drive / GDocs

So there is plenty of choice at this point for different kinds of help needed and we can find something from all of the above that suits your skill sets and fits your interests!

Room and basic food is offered in our beautiful country estate home with all conveniences and unlimited wifi in return for 20 hours per week each (if 2 people) or 30 hours per week (one person), flexible hours are possible.

We eat healthy, can accommodate vegan or vegetarian, fish or meat diets. We provide the basic foods and both love cooking, but you must also be ok to prepare meals as needed. Rolls, salads and sandwiches usually during the day, evening meals are mainly made from scratch with organic produce where possible - meat, fish, pasta, rice, eggs, bread, salads, fruit and veggies. We eat very few processed foods and are 95% sugar free, but what you eat is up to you.

We have a separate luxury studio apartment with it's own entrance that is going to be available mid-September. Otherwise we have 1 spare bedroom in the main house with a shared bathroom. It's a huge room with a queen bed, plenty of room for privacy to spread out and relax, but the bathroom is shared, so unless swe can guarantee the apartment will be available, we may only consider women HelpXers at some times of year. Other times, one or 2 guys would be fine. We will give you the best options available at the time you inquire.

One drawback - Public transport is very limited here, few buses and only 2 trains a day to Manhattan, although it's only a bike ride to the beach and shops, (and we can probably sort one out for you), the weather may not always be perfect and you cannot walk to anywhere from this very private setting except 2 vineyards for wine tasting!

If you're traveling fairly locally and only want to stay 3 or 4 days, say Monday thru Friday, then you'll probably be fine with enough to do with a bike, but any longer and a car will be needed to get around.

Preference will be given to those who can provide testimonials on their profile, or written resume with references.

Finally, the gaps in our testimonials are because we deactivate our profile on HelpX, several years ago for various reasons and only reactivated July 2017, then we had extended family staying for 8 months.

So our opportunities here are few and far between, but feel to reach out any time.

Thanks and looking forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use