help exchange   Host 34423
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34423
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 16, 2018

UPDATE 03/08/17

4 June 2018 UPDATE on availability
Please do not contact me if you need a place outside these dates and/or if your skills do not fit as I get a lot of requests and i can't reply to them all !

FROM 23.7.18 FOR 2/3 WEEKS
I have said yes to a Brazilian guy and am looking for another person to join the team - who
1. Does not speak Portuguese!
2. Can be male or if female - but must be happy to share a room with either the other helper
3. Has skills and experience in one or more of the following - building /house renovation/ DIY and/organic gardening /upholstery / sewing and enjoy problem solving
4.. Is very strong and active back problems

1. I may have places for 1-2 people
2. For 2 weeks ( longer may be possible)
3 + 4. as above.

1. Are available or at least 2 weeks and longer if agreed
3. Can be male or if female - but must be happy to share a room with either another male /female helper
4. Have skills and experience in building /house renovation/ DIY and/organic gardening and enjoy problem solving and/or love tidying, sorting out and clearing unneeded things!

People with references from another host or otherwise preferred

This is my 3rd year of hosting and we have really appreciated the help and enjoyed the contributions ( particularly the good cooking and laughter) provided by all our previous volunteers - and looking forward to meeting new people.
This time , I can take up to 2 active and skilled individuals or friends who can stay for at least 2 weeks and are happy to agree for either side give one weeks notice giving one weeks notice.

You will share a room with each other OR another helper and need to very strong and active , enjoys physical hard /dirty work.

It would be great if you have reasonable skills in either gardening / building /carpentry / construction /painting/handyman skills and can get on with things without supervision. I have a large collection of power and hand tools.

The work will be general maintenance ,surface preparation and and painting of the house, lots of work tending trees and shrubs and growing organic vegetables, maybe rebuilding a wall, making bookcases, renovating furniture....... Also loads of there is lots of opportunities to sort out the compost heaps and shovel horse manure..... and there's clearing a loft, sorting bookcases, cupboards , renovating a stone floor and always cleaning....

ACCOMMODATION will be in a big room with a high double bed and sofa bed underneath in large period house with unusually big garden in a beautiful and historic area of London close to the river, parks, pubs, the museums in Kensington and National Botanic Gardens at Kew.
Sofa bed in a large room shared with another helpx person . Bedding/towels provided]. You will be welcome in and part of the household and have the use of the bathrooms [ continuous hot water], play the piano or just sit around our huge kitchen table [ for 10+] and chat or chill in the living room living room in the house or enjoy the garden. There will be 3+ other adults around but people are working and tend to be v busy. Helpers have generally shared cooking and there is always plenty of fresh vegetables and healthy ingredients to use.

WHAT ELSE IS ON OFFER? This is a brilliant opportunity for anyone to stay in pleasant green surroundings and experience everything London has to offer.

The station is 3 mins walk + good connections by rail/tube to all London . However helpers to date have borrowed bikes to explore Central London ( 8+ kilometres 30 + mins on mostly flat) and there are great river walks /rides to historic/interesting places in West London.

You can use our high speed broadband and everyone here will happily pass on info /knowledge about London and how to experience it for free/ not too expensively.

I am a qualified English Teacher and love walking and London and it's cultural opportunities.

I will also provide loads of food and endless organic vegetables , the odd beer and a warm welcome.

In exchange I ask for a minimum of the equivalent of 5 full hours hard work per day five days a week, a positive attitude and a good sense of humour.

There are many people who want to come to London so if you are interested would be v helpful if you would update your Profile, provide references and information
About your skills/experience and what you might contribute,
When you are available and
How long [ minimum and maximum] you would like to stay and
Whether you have any allergies/intolerances or special requirements/diet and

Looking forward to your response - by email please in the 1st instance please. I have had a lot of interest over the summer. Please do not call me as I will simply ask you to email.


reviews (6)
Helper: Felix Kannemann Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 8, 2016
As many others have said already, staying with Liz is a great experience in i... view complete review

Helper: Samuel Orchard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 27, 2016
Nice host, nice house, nice garden! I had a very memorable time staying wi... view complete review

Helper: Mireille Archambeault Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 17, 2015
I was in Jully. I have had good conversations with this family. The work wa... view complete review

Helper: Bonnie Charles Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: July 14, 2015
Hello guys, Simply... always again. Go and live with Liz for a while. Thi... view complete review

Helper: Jordi and Francesc Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: June 18, 2015
Our stay at Liz house was fantastic. We share our passion for cooking and gar... view complete review

Helper: Gabriel Cunha Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Portugal Date: June 12, 2015
I spend three weeks at Liz house. A very nice and big house that Liz fights t... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use