help exchange   Host 34466
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 250
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34466
Country: Sweden

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 6, 2018

Hello everybody! We are in a period of change and therefor we can´t welcome any helpers at the moment. We will update when/if we are ready to host again.

We are a Swedish family including 3 children with lots of energy (children=energy) We live and work on our small farm located by the river of Vindeln, just on the border of Swedish Lapland. The house is at the edge of a village with about 150 inhabitants. The animals we´ve got are cattle, sheep, dogs, hens and a cat. Most of the cattle are Hereford but we also have some animals of original Swedish old breeds. During summertime we also run a campsite. The languages we speak are Swedish, English and some French.

This is a place to enjoy if you like outdoor activities; the surroundings are forest and lakes and you can use our canoes, bikes and skiis/skating (if the shoesize fit) We spend a lot of time with family and friends and you are welcome to join! We like to spend time outdoors, driving snowmobile, fishing, skiing, skating, riding, walking, swimming and sometimes making a fire to cook our food. All depending on season and how much work and energy we have at the time. March-April is our most "outdoor" months when the children have holidays and the weather usually is good. (Nightlife and party is hard to find around here)

We mostly need help with farmhouse chores (winter) but also construction/building, fencing, forestry etc. Apart from outdoorwork we expect help with basic domestic chores. During the summer it's more work at the campsite, with cleaning the cottages and cutting grass and less work with the animals as most of them are free grazing. You don´t have to have experience about farmwork as most is easy to learn but the work requires some physical strength. Working/free days arranged how to suit you and us the best. We, and our work, are flexible and we hope you are too. Our work is not always easy/fun (including cowshit and hard to catch sheeps) and staying with us you must be prepared on working hard as well as having a good time! And you really need to be able to entertain yourself and be alone as it´s a small village and bad comunications to the cities. But we have broadband :)

Accommodation might be in a separate house/caravan or at a bed sofa in our house, we´ll talk about it before you come, but our home is always open for you. You need to be prepared to make your own meals/help cooking as we are not eating at regular times. It´s a plus if you have an international driving license, but not a must. Non-smoker and all-eater preferably. We also would like to see a picture at your profile.

Please email us with any questions you may have! /Jenny

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use