help exchange   Host 34472
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Beaworthy
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34472
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 12, 2019

Hello prospective HelpXers,

The work is mainly on the farm, which is simple work of feeding and watering the animals and chickens (plus the ducks) and milking two of our goats.....

If the weather is good (and not too hot) there are outside jobs of gardening and landscaping the kitchen garden.

In exchange for all of this we will supply good food, a lot of conversation and a good sprinkling of laughter!

So if you are interested in what I have written above, please let me know as soon as possible as we need to fill our vacancy.

* * * * * *

Please read.....

We do like our helpers to stay 3 weeks (or more) - This is because we have a lot to teach new helpers and this takes time. The first 3 - 4 days we would be working with you and then you would need 2 days off, so that is the first week gone....

**WARM** clothes (even in summer it can be cold here)- working coat/jacket and wellington boots ARE essential, please let us know if bring wellington boots is a problem as we have some that may fit.

We would like to introduce ourselves, we are Colin and Suzi. We live on a smallholding (which is a small "Working Farm") on the edge of Ashwater village which is set in the quiet Devon countryside. The village of Ashwater has a small village shop which is also our local post office and a nice village pub.

We are within driving distance of the very beautiful coastlines of both Devon and Cornwall, as well as both Dartmoor and Bodmin moors.We have two small towns that are about 12km away Launceston and Holsworthy, these have bus services to interesting locations such as Plymouth, Barnstaple and Exeter.


Now to tell you about our "family" which consists of the two of us, two dogs (Biscuit and Bolt) and one small hand-reared 3 year old kitten (he will always be my kitten) called Otto (Our animals live in the house with us). The barn and paddocks are home to 25 chickens, 4 ducks, 1 drake, 5 nanny goats (2 of which we are currently milking), 1 billy goat, 1 Aberdeen angus cow and one Bodmin moor pony.

The day starts out with the intention of being organised, but this rarely works out. We try to start with breakfast, then milking the goats and feeding the other animals. Our chickens are let out around 11am when the eggs are collected. Once back in the house we deal with the milk and eggs. After which it is coffee time!

Lunch is aimed at around 2pm, generally a light meal e.g. cheese on toast or poached eggs.

Afternoon tea (tea and cake) is around 5pm and 7pm is when we aim to go out for the evening milking and feeding.

Our main meal of the day is the evening meal, this is usually eaten around 9pm after doing the evening milking.

We are a meat eating family and the type of meals that we eat, mean that it is difficult to cater for vegetarians (so we are sorry, but no vegetarians please), we eat the meat that we produce on the small holding, for instance pork, lamb and goat, we enjoy good home cooked food. Breakfast is usually cereal, with fruit and home-made yoghurt, lunch is generally a light meal and dinner the main meal of the day served up after the evening milking. Our helper can help with meal preparation, but not cook for themselves.

We use our own goat’s milk as our house-hold milk. If you have any dietary issues please discuss it with us before you decide to come.

Our house is a bungalow with a main bedroom up-stairs, all the other rooms are at ground level. The accommodation for our ‘helper’ is a large double room at the front of the house.

We have a wide variety of jobs that we would like help with, some need to be done daily, while others are weekly or monthly jobs and then we also have one-off jobs.

Ideally we would like our helper(s) to work 5 hours a day each, but the time is based on how long we expect the jobs to take - not how long it takes you. This would be for 5 days a week in return for all meals, accommodation and a lot of laughter. Days off and hours worked are by mutual agreement, we are not rigid with work hours and so can be quite flexible. Some of the time you would be helping us with the jobs to be done, especially during the `learning period` but then we expect you to do the jobs alone. Sometimes we have to be away for a few days, so we expect you to run the house and farm during that time.

We do like our helpers to stay a minimum of 3 weeks - This is because we have a lot to teach new helpers and this takes time. The first 3 - 4 days we would be working with you and then you would need 2 days off, so that is the first week gone....

Job areas are as follows:
Milking goats.
Feeding and watering all farm animals.
Collecting eggs.
Cleaning and sorting eggs.
Feeding and watering house pets.
Barn - cleaning and mucking out.
Field work - fencing.
Garden - Landscaping.
Vegetable plot - weeding, digging, de-stoning and planting.
House – painting both inside and out.
General cleaning and tidying outside.


***WARM*** clothes - working coat/jacket and wellington boots ARE essential, please let us know if bring wellington boots is a problem as we have some that may fit.


We have wireless internet access for browsing, email and Facebook only due to a limited monthly download allowance.

We look forward to welcoming you into our home.


If you send us a message, we will make every effort to reply.

If you send a message and we reply with an offer of dates for you to stay with us, PLEASE REPLY - even if you decide to decline our offer, as we can then move forward to offer the dates to the next HelpXer.

reviews (13)
Helper: Lena Schulte Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 17, 2018
Suzi and Colin I am sooooooooooooooooo sorry for my late review!!!! I totally... view complete review

Helper: Caroline and Félix Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 6, 2017
Sorry about the (very) late review! Staying with Suzy and Colin was our fir... view complete review

Helper: Franki Li Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: February 10, 2017
Feedback to Atwater Farm As my first helpx experience, it's very nice wo... view complete review

Helper: Xinyan Liu Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: September 26, 2016
It is my first helpx experience and I have been here for 2 weeks. Suzi picked... view complete review

Helper: Mélanie and Adrien Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 10, 2016
It was our first helpx experience and we had a wonderful time, the work is no... view complete review

Helper: Lam and Yeung Ming Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: March 27, 2016
It is our first Helpx experience. We have been here for six weeks. We had goo... view complete review

Helper: Maël Ponsard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 29, 2016
It was not a good expérience because Suzi is not frendly but Colin is an a in... view complete review

Helper: Yi jing Han Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: January 3, 2016
I spend wonderful two months with Colin and Suzi. They are lovely couple and ... view complete review

Helper: Rose VITRAC Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 2, 2015
Suzi and Colin are a nice couple but not easy to feel well everytime with the... view complete review

Helper: Bente Schardelmann Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 2, 2015
I stayed with Suzi and Colin one month. It was my First helpx experience and ... view complete review

Helper: Yinj Tan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Malaysia Date: April 14, 2015
Suzi and Colin is my first helpx host, it is a little bit confused in the beg... view complete review

Helper: Kathryn Sanday Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: February 14, 2015
I had a wonderful time at Ashdene farm with Suzy and Colin. I keep goats in J... view complete review

Helper: Keke Han Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: January 8, 2015
This is my first helpx experience and I had a really wonderful time in 2 week... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use