help exchange   Host 34690
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Outram
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 9
Persons: 1, 2 or 3* see below
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34690
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 11, 2020

We live in a 100 year old farmhouse on 22 acres which we enjoy sharing and with too much to do for us to get to it all.

There's Indy the dog, Delphi the budgie, Chester the miniature horse, the goats Gracie and Billy the Kid as well as as some weed-control goats, a dozen or so beef cattle to get to know besides your hosts - Hyram, Adrienne and Amélie.

We have a single bedroom as well as a lovely double bedroom for couples or friends willing to share a room so we can host up to three helpers in various combinations.

Work will involve whatever needs to be done - garden work (often lots of weeding!), house work, farm work, building and vehicle maintenance, housework, cooking, etc. If you have some special skills and experience we'll try to put them to use, if you don't, there will still be ways to help out.

We would like a good four hours of work per day on average in exchange for board. We are happy for you to "time bank" if we can arrange it so you can a whole day off.

If you have any special skills please let us know and we will try to incorporate them into the work.

Cell phone coverage is good, there is no TV reception and we have reasonable internet access. We do have indoor plumbing and hot and cold running water ;-)

Meat is often on the menu, either home grown or wild, and we harvest as much as we can from our garden (not much these days) and local wild food collecting. Vegetarians can be accommodated, particularly if you help cook.

Only non-smokers please.

Allergy sufferers beware! We are surrounded by grass paddocks, flowers and pollen producing trees which can make your time miserable here. Make sure you bring whatever you need to manage your allergies and if you suffer badly from hay fever it may be best not to stay with us.

We make regular trips to Mosgiel and Dunedin so a day in the "city" or doing some sightseeing can be arranged.

We like to work but we also like to play - bush walks, beach trips, fishing, canoeing, cycling, swimming at the local pool or just hanging out on the verandah looking at the view, talking or just listening to the quiet.

CURRENT WORK PROJECTS
- Summer is here! The gardens need lots of weeding and tending; there is wood chipping to do as well as wood cutting, splitting and stacking; Macrocarpa hedge trimming; tree planting, some building, who knows what else?

- We are also going to break in a large new vegetable garden so there may be lots of spade work.

- Gorse clearing. This is great fun, working around dangerous machinery and getting pricked by gorse always makes for an exciting day!

- There may be some indoor and outdoor construction jobs at some time.

We look forward to hearing from you!

SOME OTHER NOTES:
- Please indicate in your first email approximately when and how long you would like to stay - we can always make adjustments.

- Let us know if you are vegetarian before you arrive.

- Please use the web link above to help you plan your stay with us. It will show you a calendar which indicates the days that we already have helpers arranged or do not need helpers. Feel free to contact us even if the time you are interested in shows "No Vacancy" as sometimes we can accommodate more helpers than are scheduled and sometimes helpers cancel at short notice.

- I often send email replies that do not seem to get through or are bounced back. Please make sure your email address is correct in your profile, your mailbox is not full and check your SPAM box for my reply. Providing a cell phone number I can ring or text you on is helpful.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use