help exchange   Host 34737
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 247
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 34737
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 27, 2020

Minimum 2 weeks stay! We are very interrested in having helpers for long term stay from January.

January and beyond: Making vegetable no dig beds. Foundation work on the humanure hacienda composting facility. Forestry work, cutting down trees with chainsaw. Milling lumber into timbers. cutting and splitting firewood, compostwork. Cooking, cleaning and feeding the animals.

Type of work on the farm: Making biochar, Grindbygg building, GeoDome building,vegetable growing,Natural Beekeeping,green woodworking,Natural brushmaking,Fine woodworking, feeding the animals,Timber framing,fencemaking,terraforming to meet the climate change Challenge,cooking and cleaning.Forestry work.Natural Building.Beehive building (Warre and horisontal topbar.Dry stonewalling.Spooncarving.Humanure composting.

Accomodation for helpers: single or double room. We also have tent and a treetent for the more adventurous types, or for a hiking experience. You will have 2 days off every week, depending on the work in progress. 3 meals a day and internet is available.

Haugane is situated North of the main city Bergen on the Westcoast of Norway. 40 min. drive by car, 1hr by bus. Situated on the South slope of a forrested hill means we get plenty of sun when it finally breakes through the clouds. We are about 50m above sealevel at the farmhouse, but the farm stretches from the fjord to freshwater lakes and all the way to the top of the nearest hill at 250m.We bought this farm 5 years ago, and have spent time renovating buildings, we are currently developing beds for all kinds of vegetables. We have chickens, but since we have a mostly vegetarian diet we do not plan to have a lot of animals.We are renovating and building New timber structures and naturalbuilding structures.

Currently occypying the farm is me Kjetil(53),Also my lovely girlfriend Hanne(52)is here some weekends and my kids now and then. In the not so distant future we hope to convert the farm into a permaculture ecovillage comprising 5+ families.

And we have bees :-)

Pics: Timber terraces, compost work, Kitchen garden gate, woodworkshop in progress, kithen garden, Napoleon and his mistress.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use