help exchange   Host 34837
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


New Orleans
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 or 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34837
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2019

Hi! Welcome to our world of HelpX. We enjoy hosting couples or male visitors in our home to help out with various projects and tasks.

In exchange we will provide a comfortable place to stay, friendship and some meals.

Absolutely No pets/animals are allowed, but we have 2 super friendly cats. If you're allergic, or don't like cats, this might not be the best place for you.

When reaching out for a place to stay, keep in mind your strengths and what you love to do. We love working within a guests strengths and desires. Previously guests have set up computers for us, built glitter dispensing devices, developed packaging, refinished furniture, hung shelves and shutters, refinished furniture, painted home, shot product shots, cleaning, tons of stuff.

Basically write to us, let us know what you love to do and are good at and let's figure out a way to put these strengths to work in New Orleans while you're here.

Sorry, but we are not into learning new languages.

We prefer longer term stays of a month or longer.

ABOUT YOUR ACCOMMODATIONS
Welcome to our home on St Roch, one of the most beautiful streets in New Orleans. Just steps from the French Quarter, Frenchman St. and some of the best dining and drinks the Marigny, St. Roch and Bywater neighborhoods.

Originally built in the 1880's, architecturally speaking, our home is a newly renovated, camel-backed shotgun with a double gallery addition.
We have a spare bedroom with it’s own central heat/air conditioning controls that’s comfortable and ready for your visit.

Our classically designed home has Brazilian Hardwood floors, old growth cypress trim, salvaged beadboard trim, and salvaged antique doors with fun and funky furniture and decor.
Our HelpX guests will share the large kitchen, living room, washer/dryer and dining areas with us. Plus you will have access to the front porches to relax in the morning and evenings.

If you want to prep meals, the kitchen includes a granite kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, gas stove and oven with a top of line coffee maker/espresso machine, toaster, dishes, pots and pans etc., There is a large refrigerator that we will share. If you love to cook, you are covered.

You have your own tiled bathroom that is only shared when we have other guests visiting. It has a large shower vanity and antique cabinet.
We have hi speed internet.

Our home is kept in a very clean, clutter free and well organized manner at all times. While you are here, please respect these living choices. Doing your part to maintain these choices is very much enjoyed and thoroughly appreciated!

-- This is a NON-SMOKING residence inside and on the porches, sorry. You are welcome to smoke on the benches in the neutral ground (green space) in front of the home. This is a relaxing place with Large Live Oaks that line the street.

EXPECTATIONS: We want your help about 20 hours / week. Generally hours are worked around your schedule (it's not a 9-5). Tasks need to be completed in a timely fashion.

ABOUT our HELPX PROJECTs

We are entrepreneurs. We run a hospitality business our of our home. Mostly we rent out a separate part of our home through Air BnB. From time to time we rent out one of the extra bedrooms in the main house to traveling artists, or have family and friends stay with us. The more the merrier!!

We also have started a cosmetics company that has a bit of a cult following in New Orleans. You can see the links to our businesses in the website section.

Our home is newer, but it is an ongoing project both creatively and with maintenance.

We would provide guidance for the following items(in no particular order):

• Photographer/videographer work for our Glitter Company
• Touch up paint on the house
• Various other projects around the home.
• Work on hospitality and glitter business social media and website.
• If you are photographer, take pics for various projects.
• Build a website for our hospitality business.

We pay for the supplies, but need the someone that is mechanically inclined and has ambition to take care of the rest. will only take a week or 2 to finish, but we are willing to host for a month.

If you’re a couple we have projects for a 2nd person because all this happens while we host guests in our Air BnB. This space is completely separate and self-contained, but we have a steady stream of awesome guests.

We have someone that comes in to take care of cleaning, etc., sometimes we just might need help welcoming guests or with changeover if the help can't make it.

Plus Danielle’s awesome invention….
If you love makeup, beauty products or anything that has to do with makeup (Competitive Dance, Pageantry, professional background, stage performing, makeup artistry, etc), help us to bring our beauty product, Beauty Butler to market.
What sort of tasks do we need help with? Social media, making/editing blog/tutorial videos, computer work, mostly work from the home. Simply put, if you love makeup and want experience in seeing what it takes to bring a product to market, you'll want to stay with us!
Do you want to learn more about Beauty Butler? Just google "Beauty Butler", that's what you'll be helping us with.


ABOUT US
A cool couple that wants to meet you. Through traveling, we have built many friendships, discovered and learned more about ourselves, people and the world than we ever could have imagined. We are settled in New Orleans, we look forward to learning from you.

Danielle used to travel full time for work and she might start this again. This means she leaves on Sunday nights and returns on Thursday evenings. Greg works from home and is home most days.

We have 2 awesome cats. They are hairless but still carry the same allergens. If you're allergic to cats, you might want to seek other accommodations, sorry :(.

Danielle- I am an former Funeral Director and Embalmer. I am a Certified Orthotist, my day job.

I specialize in designing and fitting helmets on infants with positional plagiocephaly...a condition where a baby's head is deformed from pressure.

Danielle- I enjoy shopping, exploring, hiking, running, walking with Greg, making pottery (haven't been able to lately), fitness pole dancing, and last but not least I love burlesque!!!!

Greg- If You Feel That Technology Has not simplified your life, you have not met Greg. He enjoys working with various forms of technology. Particularly productivity tools such as computers, the internet, mobile computing, applications and software. Once I learn techniques and tips, sharing this information with others to help make their day to day routines easier is what I enjoy most. This joy of helping others has been the inspiration for creating and pursuing my passion.

Greg- I am regularly working toward improving myself as a person. It is a great challenge, and helps me avoid boredom. I have come a long way, and can see there is a long way to go. I guess it would be called living life, and it is a great journey:)

PHILOSOPHY
Greg - Living life to it's fullest, having fun, and being happy are the essentials of my life.

Danielle - You get what you give. Treat others with kindness and respect and you will get the same back!

Danielle's Favorite Quotes
"Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined. ~ Henry David Thoreau "To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. this is to have succeeded.
- Ralph Waldo Emerson –

If you find this opportunity interesting, reach out to us, tell us about you and let’s make something great!

Sincerely,
Danielle and Greg

Description of photos:
First pic: Us, we normally dress a bit more casual :).

2nd Pic: The kitchen. If you like to cook, we have a gas stove from the 50's, and all the kitchen gadgets you need to whip up a quick meal or a gourmet feast.

3rd pic: The guest bedroom has a closet and is decorated in a Mid Century modern style.

4th pic: Modern tiled guest bath with full size shower is only used by you...unless we have friends or family visiting from out of town.

5th pic: Nice place to relax is our living room "Little Versailles" hall of mirrors.

6th pic: The outside of the house showing porches you can enjoy morning coffee or a relaxing evening.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use