help exchange   Host 34966
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Woodend
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 34966
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 29, 2019

We are a family of two adults and a teenager on 7 acres in Woodend; an easy 1 hour train ride from Melbourne. We have ongoing garden maintenance and home renovation tasks and will appreciate your help with numerous projects.

We will collect you from the train station, so you don't need a car. If you have a vehicle, it's a bonus. It's a picturesque area near famous Hanging Rock. If you stay for 2 weeks we will try to drive you to some of the sights while you are here.

The work required is varied and we will match it to your skills: gardening, planting, weeding, digging, painting, fencing, animal care, cooking, cleaning, mowing, collecting branches, tidying up etc. Please let us know if you have particular skills. We are looking for 4 to 5 hours a day for 5 days with 2 full days off or a similar combination - we are flexible and you can fit the work around your own plans. If you have carpentry or landscaping skills we will be very grateful!

We enjoy fresh home-cooked food and grow some vegetables depending on the season. All meals are provided and we would love you to help with the cooking or cleanup after dinner. Please let us know your food preferences.

Animals include about 40 chickens and 3 alpacas. We now have two new cats who are lots of fun. There are many kangaroos, birds and parrots that visit.

The property is in a quiet street at the edge of town, with fabulous neighbours. Internet is available. We are learning French so we enjoy having French guests that we can converse with in the evenings over a glass of red wine and cheese!

Our house is comfortable and we enjoy the garden in the warmer weather. Bedroom with a pull out Ikea sofa bed (suits 1 or a couple), and shared bathroom. Another room has a single bed. Non-smokers please. In addition we have bicycles available for you to use. We are always happy to drop you into the village (4km) should you want to catch the train or go to the pub. We usually take our guests out to dinner once a fortnight to thank them for their hard work.

Sorry we cannot help with 2nd year visa as we are not a farm business.

If you're the sort of person who is happy to dive in without too much supervision, please drop us a line!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use