help exchange   Host 3500
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Galey
All Year: July
Area (ha): 1
Persons: One
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3500
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 15, 2019

I have had my volunteer cancel for the month of September 2019, would you like to come and help me for 3 to 4 weeks ? FROM ABOUT 9th SEPTEMBER until 10th OCTOBER 2019. ( i'm flexible with these dates and how long you'd like to stay, minimum 2 weeks).

Chambres et tables d`hôtes at the base of the Cousearns mountins of the Ariège, Pyrénées, France, I'm getting on with it and living the life.......want to help !?

I'm looking for helpers as this year, the first time in 10 years I am having to run the place 'solo'.

Are you dynamic, keen, eager to learn & quick to learn, have common sense, serious about helping and wanting to also enjoy the local area at your leisure.

I will be holding the fort with welcoming guests, cooking, cleaning, shopping etc, but i will need help with this and also someone help me with maintaining the vegetable garden and grass cutting and general outdoor maintenance of watering weeding, planting out and harvesting produce, stacking fire wood.

I, Becks, can teach you how to cook, regional Gascon and seasonal dishes... and we'll work together doing the guests breakfast, preparing for dinner, making bread, dessets, jams and stocking up on homemade terrines etc and then the housework, which may invlove a full change over of cleaning bedrooms and living areas, or just a quick service of each bedroom if my guests are not checking out that day. We will work as a team.

Its easy work BUT you must be 'clued up' and have common sense and be willing to have a go and learn. You and I will work side by side, in order to get the jobs done efficiently and productively to then enjoy the afternoons and relax with free time.

Outside in the vegetable garden needs someone practical and happy to get their hands dirty and enjoy the rewards of what a vegetable garden can give you. The vegetable garden is on a steep slope, so you must be nibble and sure footed, as I am running the place solo this year i have planted out the bare essentials. Salads, tomatoes, herbs, brocolli, chard, cabbages, peas, beans, herbs, chilis etc......

You must be self motivated as i can initially direct you, but after that i would expect you to be able to continue alone. The outside work is simply watering, weeding, pruning and strimming the grass. Keeping everything in order, and looking nice.

My background here in France = I, Becks, am 49, lived here for 14 yrs, my passion and experience lies as an experienced cook, i'm easy going but firm, organised and flexible, I love the outdoors and a giggle.

My husband and I moved to the Ariège, SW France in 2005 and bought an old stone sheep barn. After 4 years renovating, with volunteers for the final two years, we opened in 2010 what is now a successful 4 bedroomed (9 guests) chambre et tables d`hôte business / bed and breakfast, serving dinner with home grown and home reared and local produce.

My husband was a gardener and I am a self trained cook, so with our combined interests, knowledge and talents, we have grown our own `bio` produce and raised Gascon pigs for meat and chickens for eggs. From our produce we create and serve evening dinners, jams, chutneys and pickles to our guests during the year.

I require helpers who are physically fit, self motivated and up for a summer of hard work, but fun. It would be helpful if you have a positive and mature outlook, and bring along some light heartedness.

Please DO NOT apply if you have ALLERGIES to animals, pollen, flowers grasses etc ! !

WHAT ELSE ....... with your help, as a team of 2 we can be more productive, and not have me running myself into the ground.

You can enjoy a slice of the Pyrenees, embrace the surrounding area be it walking and hiking, cycling or lazying around reading books.

I am happy to share my knowledge, experience and interests, with you. You can learn some French and explore the area, be it walks, cycling, mountain biking, or grabbing a deck chair and soaking up some sunshine with a good book (of which I have plenty). Each Saturday morning there is a colourful market at Saint Girons, where you can meet the locals, sample and buy their produce and learn more about their culture, plus enjoy some of the village fetes / music festivals.

Languages spoken
English, French

ACCOMMODATION / FOOD

I have a wooden cabin which has a double bed / 2 seater sofa / solar panel for lights. OR if it's cold my dining room can be converted into a bedroom, you will use my bathroom, living room and small kitchen, this is all separate from the b&b, therefore we can relax without bothering our guests.

Breakfast / late lunch and an evening snack are provided, you will have to assist me in preparing this as I shall also be preparing a 4 course evening dinner for the b & b guests. (A hearty late lunch is our meal of the day).

What else ...
OTHER INFORMATION ....... I am in a pretty remote location, situated below the village of Galey and above Orgibet. Both villages are accessible by foot, public transport is non existent, but its safe to hitch. The great outdoors is there for the taking! If you have your own car, all the better.

I do not have a tv, but enjoy a few films from time to time. I have a huge library of English language books and a good selection of French language graphic novels too, plus plenty of good music to share........

Wifi throughout the main building and on the terrace, orange mobile reception is non existent, SFR works well.

If you think you'd like to help me, feel free to get in touch and ask me further questions. I am looking for enthusiastic and friendly people who would enjoy the countryside, like being outdoors, learning from my experience of running of a small business, managing a small holding.

Check out my website 'www.anciennebergerie.com' or facebook page to get a feel of what and where all this is taking place.


Thank you
Becks

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use