help exchange   Host 35053
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35053
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 3, 2015

Our small holding is nestled in the Wiltshire countryside just outside the village of Tisbury. We have 7 acres of land, from paddocks to woodland and gardens with a large pond and streams. We are surrounded by fields and located in a rural position but still in easy walking distance (1 mile) to the local village and train station.

We have a large, old stone house, with farm style family kitchen, 4 x bedrooms and large reception rooms. We live and work at the property full time, and having seen our five boys grow up and fly the nest we now look after a flock of 30+ sheep, 1 large pig and her offspring, 10 chickens and a cow or two. We're very family orientated and enjoy having our family to stay, some live locally and a couple live in Wales and London.

We're looking for enthusiastic helpers who want an adventure and are not afraid of getting stuck in. No particular skills are necessary but an enthusiastic approach and ability to work unaided are needed. Stays can range from a few days to weeks or months. You are going to assist us with maintaining our beautiful land and gardens. chopping logs for winter, looking after the animals, gardening and tinkering with other little projects like repairing old cars, digging vegetable patches, fencing etc. Its a large farmhouse and there is always general maintenance to do as well as projects to finish. Hours of work per day will be flexible but average 4-5 hours a day, some times more, sometimes less, in return we can provide you with great home cooked food (Tina is an amazing cook) a nice clean bedroom, advice about animal husbandry, gardening, practical skills, sustainable living and no doubt many a fun tale or two. Working at weekends very much depends on our social calender, we often have family to stay meaning we may get stuck into larger jobs or just head out for a walk via the pub. If you prefer to camp, that is always an option, we have camping equipment we can lend you and plenty of wood for camp fires.

Available facilities include:
Internet and wifi in the house.
use of washing machine and dryer
use of shower and W.C
use of cooking facilities, with agreement from Tina.
use of bedroom, caravan or tent.

Although rural, Tisbury boasts good amenities, pubs and even a train station with direct routes to London. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and there are many historical sites (Stonehenge 15 mins away) and places of interest to visit. There is a great community spirit in the village, lots of small local events each month.

It's coming into Spring 2015, and we are looking to get our flower beds and vegetable patches dug and sown, tree pruning, hedge laying, tree planting, shed building are the types of jobs on our to-do-list. We've just had some more piglets and lambing is around the corner. There is always something exciting and new happening here at Wickwood to get involved in, and for anyone looking for a great rural, outdoors type of experience, who would like to learn more about the countryside and animals this would be perfect, we're keen to meet people from all walks of life to share stories and memories around the kitchen table, if this sounds like your cup of tea then please get in touch with a description of yourself, your likes/ dislikes and describe the kind of things you would like out of the experience.

We are looking for help from mid-March on-wards,

We look forward to meeting you,

Richard and Tina

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use