help exchange   Host 35082
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 1 or 2 close friends
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35082
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 5, 2019

Hi, we are John and Stephanie, semi-retired active hosts interested in history, art, poetry and folk music as well as farming. We are looking forward hosting friendly sociable volunteers so we can also learn about your life and culture.

Are you available to help us for a few weeks and learn more about our old-fashioned way of life?
Do you like horses and other animals? We need help with stable duties, field work, hedging, gardening and some housework. You will live in our home as part of the family which sometimes includes our son and elderly mother. In exchange for around 5 hours work per day (flexible) we offer full board and all meals are included. We cook good quality meals from basic ingredients and mostly buy locally sourced produce and are happy to cater for vegetarians as many of our meals are vegetarian. Please note we only accept non smokers. Our home is an unmodernised quirky Victorian farmhouse full of antiquity situated on the edge of a small farming village in the Midlands near Rugby. We have 2 horses and follow natural horsemanship and western riding. We also support a Riding for the Disabled group which occasionally uses our sand school. Our large natural garden and orchard needs regular maintenance and we grow a few seasonal organic vegetables. Field work includes pooh picking, hedging and repair tasks. We have a young Irish Terrier dog and a friendly cat. At the moment we have no chickens though we plan to get some more but there are plenty at the farm across the road that supply us with fresh eggs.
If you would like a unique historical home stay then please contact us. We can also show you traditional English culture, folk music, village events and local places of interest. Our small village has a pub but no shop, Lutterworth, the nearest town,is 5km away. Leicester is 15km away and is accessible by bus and is famous for the reburial of King Richard third who did in 1465 and Leicester City football.
We can offer help to improve your English language and conversation skills but you must have a basic experience of speaking English and motivation to learn.

Please tell us that you have read our profile, why you have chosen our place and what you can offer us that is relevant to our lifestyle. Thanks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use