help exchange   Host 35132
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co. Kilkenny
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 35132
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 17, 2020

Due to Covid 19, we regret to say that we are not taking any helpers until further notice.

This is an 18th century listed Georgian residence, set in tranquil parkland located on the Tipperary/Kilkenny border in the beautiful South East of Ireland.

We run a dairy farm of Friesian/Jersey cows in a spring calving, grass-based system where our cows live outdoors for most of the year. As well as cows and calves we have dogs and cats, We also have a gate lodge which we run as a 4 star self-catering holiday home. We are only 20 minutes drive from Kilkenny city and only 10 minutes drive from the nearest town Callan where you can get the bus to Kilkenny, Dublin or Cork which make exciting day trips. The ancient medieval city of Kilkenny is today a thriving, modern capital that has protected its precious heritage whilst evolving as one of Irelandís most vibrant and enjoyable cities. Its narrow slipways, side streets and preserved buildings, are matched only by its reputation for fine dining, great shopping, and entertainment.

We are a family of five with two daughters working in Dublin and one son in University. We love our farming life, working with animals and sharing our true Irish hospitality with others. We love getting to know different people and hearing stories from around the world. Prior to joining HelpX we hosted international students for nearly 10 years and have made some lifelong friendships.

Some of the work you can expect will include; help with feeding calves, bringing the cows in for milking and helping with the milking, preparing pastures for the cows, grass reseeding and fencing.
Around the grounds there is general maintenance and repairs including painting gates, doors and fences. Chopping timber, cutting the lawn and clearing out sheds.

The Lodge: Summer is an active time with tourists at the lodge and help is required preparing it for new guests.

Inside the main house there is also plenty to be done e.g. cooking, cleaning and general household chores.

The type of helpers we are looking for are hardworking, practical people who aren`t afraid to get stuck in. Most important is initiative, positive attitude and a sense of humour.

Accommodation is either a large room with two double beds and one single bed (for two/three helpers) or a large room with two single beds(for two helpers) both in the main house. Bathroom facilities are shared. Wi-Fi is available but the speed may not be suitable for Skype calls etc. All meals provided. On your days off we would be happy to drop you to the nearest town/bus/train. Please note: a high level of English is required.


Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use