help exchange   Host 35178
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Oceanside
All Year: September through May
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35178
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 6, 2020

I am most looking for someone to help with detail cleaning in the house and outside in the gardens.

I live here with my 19-year-old son and one sweet cat and am looking for help with cleaning, and gardening, maybe some food preparation, while I work on rebuilding my health. Our whole home is a 560 square foot studio so your living space would be a futon on the floor by the couch that gets put away during the day. There is lots of outdoor space, however, so it rarely feels cramped. Southern California weather is perfect for indoor/outdoor living.

We live on top of a hill with spectacular sunrise and sunset views and ocean breezes. We are less than 6 miles in from the ocean.

We have a small new garden here. We eat from our garden when available, from local stores, and from the weekly farmer's markets. Full access to the kitchen and the food in it, to prepare your meals and snacks, is included in your stay.

In trade for staying here and food, I ask about 25 hours a week of work keeping our indoor and outdoor space clean and neat, including some of the deep monthly type cleaning, and sometimes preparing meals. It is a small enough space that cleaning is not too time consuming. We are adventurous eaters though I prefer most meals be health conscious (with the occasional pizza and take out food :)). We do eat meat and dairy, favoring sources that are organic and humane.

We have enjoyed all the great interactions over the years, hosting people both here and at our other home on the other side of the country. We tend to prefer a family feel to a hosting. My son, though, these days, tends to keep to himself. Also, I will have private time focusing on my health nourishing, which includes much rest and my yoga practice, so there is also lots of time for you to explore your own interests.

We are very near public transportation lines - as well as easy access to uber and lyft - and I am happy to help you navigate it and find interesting things to do in the area, since that is also our primary means of transportation. If you have money for getting around and eating out now and then, if that appeals to you, and don't mind a simple impermanent sleeping arrangement, you will have lots of time in southern California to enjoy the marvelous weather, beaches, hiking, and sights while spending only a modest amount of time working.

Preference will be given to those who: enjoy cleaning and cooking and appreciate a simple natural type lifestyle and enjoy gardens and cats and teenagers. An extra bonus would be if you have skills in bodywork you could trade for some of your hours. We have really enjoyed over the years meeting people from other cultures, though also welcome those from our own here in the states.

Since it is a small space I am reluctant to make more than 2 or 3 week commitments to start. However, if it is a good match, a longer term stay is greatly enjoyed.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use