help exchange   Host 35712
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cow Bay
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35712
Region: Nova Scotia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 23, 2019

This is a cross between a homestay and a farmstay- it's a hobby farm with a summer vegetable garden and some livestock. I try to produce as much of my own food as I can on the farm, and the long-term goal is to make the place as self-sufficient as possible. I am constantly working on improving and expanding the farm, as well as doing repairs and renovations as needed. The farm is currently a one-woman show, so it takes a lot of time and effort to stay on top of the work.

Current livestock consists of a few chickens, a pair of ducks and a small flock of quail. This is also the home of the local guinea pig rescue, so there's a varying number of cavies in the house at any given time. There are also 2 small and friendly dogs and 3 cats (2 are indoors, while one happily lives in the barn). If you have allergies, be prepared to bring your medications! There is a guest room available for the helpers, which can be kept pet-free if necessary.

The house/farm is a 20 minute drive from Dartmouth and Halifax. Public transit is available if you are willing to walk to the bus stop (which, I was recently told, takes about 40 minutes), though I go into town almost every day and am always happy to give you a ride and pick you up from the bus stop when needed.

I also have a bike you'd be welcome to use. (It is not a new bike, but I've had many helpers use it for day-long rides without problems. That being said, if you don't find it up to your comfort level, it can easily be tuned up - all you have to do is ask.) The ocean is within easy walking distance (with good surfing spots nearby), and there are several nearby lakes and walking trails that could be accessed by a longer walk or a bike ride.

There is no TV in the house except an ancient tube that is only good for playing VHS tapes, though wireless internet is available. There's a piano and various other musical instruments that you're welcome to play around with, and there's no shortage of craft supplies, board games, jigsaw puzzles, etc for indoor down time.

There is wi-fi in the house, though I do ask that you please limit your use of electronics (cell phone, computer, tablet, etc) to the guest room, rather than the living room or the kitchen, as much as possible.

This time of year, help would be much appreciated with the following: preparing the garden beds for the spring/summer, some early planting, post-winter yard clean-up, some animal care, indoor and/or barn cleaning (it never ends), minor repairs and/or whatever else you are comfortable with.

Couples are welcome, and quiet children would also be considered. I will do my best to accommodate dietary needs, though I request that there be no vegangelism. I do enjoy the occasional glass of wine, but absolutely no drug use please. Smokers are welcome as long as they don't mind taking it outside.

I prefer short-term stays at this time (up to 2 weeks), though if things go really well we can talk about extending your stay! If this looks like something you'd be interested in, please don't hesitate to message!

IMPORTANT NOTE: Farms are full of potential hazards! I do require all international helpers to have travel health insurance!

ADDENDUM: Prince (large nervous dog, belonging to my previous roommate, as mentioned in one of the reviews below) no longer lives here.

ADDENDUM 2: I have not made any comments on the latest review posted, as I do not believe in waging verbal war over the internet - it is just not possible to please everyone. I do assure you that while the house is never squeaky clean (no farm house ever is), it is not a pigsty either.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use