help exchange   Host 35769
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 35769
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 8, 2017

This is a large piece of land yet only minutes from the Blockhouse Bay town centre, which has buses, various shops, library. The bus service takes you to downtown Auckland in 30 to 40 minutes. All of this metropolitan activity is at the top of our hill. Here at the bottom of the hill it is quiet and peaceful and feels rural. There are two beaches, Sandy Bay at the bottom of our garden and Blockhouse Bay Beach at the end of the road (5 minutes away). On our land we are growing vegetables and have a lot of fruit trees. The land is very beautiful - we have a native bush reserve next door and Sandy Bay Beach along the lower boundary, so that we only have one neighbour. Accommodation is in our house (own small room). A kayak is also available to use when the tide is in.
Currently living in our house are Barbara, veterinarian and homeopath, Phil, maintenance man and motorsport photographer and Sophie, who is a paramedicine student. Then there are Grace, a physio student and her boyfriend Sam, a builder's apprentice. There are also two cats, one dog and 6 chickens and two ducks living here. The chickens are free range and beautiful golden yolked eggs are available. Barbara is gluten free and Phil has been vegan in the past, so all diets accommodated easily. We are looking for general garden help - a lot of weeding of pests like ginger, bamboo, kikuyu grass, etc. There is not much else happening over winter in the garden.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use