help exchange   Host 35791
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bantry
All Year: September- May
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 35791
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 10, 2019

We're generally looking for helpers who don't mind getting their hands dirty, have some handy practical skills or are capable and willing to learn and not afraid of an alternative and environmentally focused lifestyle. We are currently 'unschooling' our kids so parents with children are welcome.

We're lucky enough to live in a beautiful landscape 7km from Bantry and 1km from the sea on the slopes of the Cork and Kerry mountains. The area, Coomhola has a good community spirit with lots of environmentally focused neighbours.

You will be helping with construction projects on alternative eco builds and landscaping. We are in the process of creating an earth-ship- using tyres and timber similar to one in the photos. It will be used as a workshop to create sculpture and run workshops.

Essentially part of our aim is to create an arts Centre, retreat and sculpture trail with a focus on the natural environment. My partner Jessica myself and our two children Archer and Tallulah, aged 8 and 11, are situated in a beautiful valley just up from Bantry Bay in the Cork and Kerry mountains, 5 minutes from the sea with stunning views. My partner Jessica, is an environmental scientist and educator as well as a vegetarian chef. When I'm not constructing living spaces and workshops, I spend my time creating sculpture and designing spaces. Projects are realized with the use of practical skills such as metalwork and carpentry.

During the summer we go on the road creating installations whilst running a cafe at events
https://www.facebook.com/Hortisculptures/
http://hortisculptures.com

We live in a rather unusual structure, next to an old farmhouse (The grandma's house)on 5 acres of land, with the Coomhola river running alongside the property.

I am looking for some skilled or semi-skilled help, (definitely capable) to assist with projects. Being innovative and willing to take on tasks independently and with good common sense is very important! So artists are welcome!

Other tasks here may include stone wall building, helping with wooden structures and possibly assisting with the creation of new sculpture.

There is a small stone Annex built by volunteers for volunteers with a kitchen and sitting area - If there are only one or two volunteers this will be the accommodation but if there are a few, Accommodation will be in either a campervan or caravans with compost toilet and the use of the stone cottage for hanging out and cooking when necessary.There is also internet. The owner of the land and mother in law is a director of Wwoof Ireland- world-wide volunteers on organic farms. So we have had many volunteers helping...and most have loved it here!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use