help exchange   Host 36306
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pedrogao Grande
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,5
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 36306
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2020

We are a Portuguese couple, with a little girl born in July 2016, and a baby boy born in the 1st of January 2020, who lives in a small village laid abandoned for 20 years, in Central Portugal (not in Scandinavia as in indicates in the map). The river Mega runs through the valley. We moved to the countryside because we wanted to be the change we wanted to see in the world.

We are working on setting up a natural garden, restoring the stone house, collecting and drying herbs for teas, making natural soaps, graphic design and illustration.

After a Permaculture Design Course and 1,5 year of WWOOfing (a month in Japan and the rest in Portugal, by bicycle), we embraced this adventure inspired by all the projects we met. We would love to share this experience with everyone who wants to shift life standards. We hope to inspire everyone who wants to live more close to nature and be respectful towards others.

We are also implicated in saving seeds in an association. We care for what we eat.
We are firm advocate of natural health, home birth and home schooling.

We have good neighborhood where we swap help, seeds, plants, etc.

We have around 1,5 ha of land with a lot to discover under the brambles.

Helpers are welcome and needed for clearing land, gardening, chopping and collecting fire wood,tree-planting, and house restoration! Other tasks includes innoculate shiitakes, house keeping, and plant trees, a lot of trees, as our area was very affected by the fires in 2017. We also make part of a group who cultivates its own rice near Pombal.
Accommodation is either in a little cottage we call the romantic house, or in a tent, in summer. We will also provide you 3 vegetarian meals.

We are looking for longer stays of up to one or two months, 15 days minimum. Couples are more than welcome.
Household tasks such as washing up and keeping clean the kitchen and the bathroom are shared, and there will be plenty of time for swimming in the nearby river or long walks in the mountains.

There are many options regarding transportation to a place near us. The nearest are Castanheira de PÍra at 9km and Pedrog„o Grande at 15km, where we can come pick you up. We might take some time to answer because we don't have cell phone signal, nor internet. We check e-mails on Monday, when we go to the library. There are no public transports to our place. The nearest Cafe with internet is 5 km away.

We ask for 6 hours work/day, 5 days/week. We welcome nature-loving, self-motivated, down to earth and responsible people who like to be useful.

Bring your good sense of humor, working gloves, working clothes and working boots, and most importantly, enthusiasm! and leave your tobaccos and alcohol at home.
To keep this place as natural as it can be, don't bring harmful cosmetics.

we look forward to hearing from you.
Luisa, Carlos and Miranda

Being here, taking care of a small piece of land in full possession of freedom and fullness of every day, each and every day, this might have been the original path of agriculture. Masanobu Fukuoka

Life is short and there is a fundamental right to happiness. Claim your happiness. Carlo Petrini

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use