help exchange   Host 36411
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Whitehorse
All Year: all year
Area (ha): .4
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36411
Region: Yukon

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 12, 2020

Mandarin, German, Italian speakers wanted!

Position #1-singles or couples and or 2 friends for may 1st- October. 2 week minimum, 2 month Max
Lots of cleaning the b&b and gardening.


We love to host. It is very important to us that this feels like a fair exchange to all parties. You work hard and in exchange we want you to feel that we have also worked hard to provide you with excellent food and housing and opportunity to explore.

we were blessed with the company over 130 helpers over the past 4 years. It was a ton of fun and so many projects were completed. Thank you, thank you to all the amazing people who blessed us with their hard work and good company.


You will be provided with a great variety of healthy food, including home raised chicken, rabbit, eggs and wild game(moose). You will make your own breakfast , lunch is usually sandwiches or left overs and dinners tend to be a big production with lots of variety...Cooking and eating is a huge passion of ours and we are always trying new things...
If you enjoy cooking , we would love it if you made a few meals... especially from your country/region.

Weekly Dinner menu sample- we share in the cooking
1) Moose chilli with red and yellow peppers, grilled zucchini and jalapeno corn bread and salad
2) Rice and Bean Burritos, with guacamole, salsa fresca and spicy slaw
3) Organic Roasted Chicken, garden potatoes and carrots, with green salad
4) Ukrainian Beet Borscht soup with bread and salad
5) Chicken Curry w/ Rice
6) Quiche- mushroom, blue cheese( and ham?)
7) Lasagna ( moose or vegetarian) and Greek salad

We also like to bake fresh bread, yogurt, kombucha, and the occasional cheese cake.
We will try accommodate/respect your meal preferences(vegitarian etc) as we know good food is essential! But you MUST be okay with cooking meat for others.



More about the Farmette:

We are on 1/2 acre on the river right across from downtown Whitehorse and are surrounded by First Nation land. It is 4 min drive, 2 min canoe or a 10-15 min bike ride into town. We are happy to pick you up at the airport as long as you dont arrive really late at night.Lots of ppl come over for dinner and someone is always up for hiking and canoeing... you will have plenty of opportunity to join in group outings and we hope that you feel part of our chosen family while you are here.
This is a very convenient spot to explore Whitehorse and area from.
We are looking for help with garden watering, feeding , chickens, cooking, shopping, errands, house cleaning, construction.
We keep a clean house and enjoy having of people over for dinner, playing Catan, bon-fires, cross country skiing. We go out hiking a lot and we would be happy to tour you around to the amazing sites. There is a pottery wheel you could try out and a wonderful swimming spot right near the house.

NOTE
** We NEED you to be independent Adult(make your own fun sometimes..cook and clean up after your self),observant( find the milk in the fridge and notice things that need to be done( garbage taken out etc)... we are happy to give you rides into town when were are going each day but we are not providing personal taxi service( there are bicycle available for you to use). We do not lend out our vehicles for helpers to use. There is limited wifi( no downloading.
You must be able to lift 25lbs or 13 kgs( for animal water containers) , you must be ok with the smell of chicken poo and compost.
Hope to see you on your adventure this season :)

Amber and Erik

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use