help exchange   Host 36597
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Wellington
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 36597
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 17, 2019

We are available to host between 23 November 2019 and 5 December 2019. Before Christmas we have lots of vegie garden work that we need help with, and mulch to distribute around the orchard, and weeds to pull. And then after that we have a fence to erect for the hens.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big section (2 acres) in Tawa (15km from Wlgtn city) with domestic poultry & developing home orchard. Our home is in walking distance of train station (Kapiti line) - approx. 2 km or 30 minutes walk. We do live half-way up a hillside, like a lot of homes in Wellington. The walk is easy and invigorating - the kids do it daily to and from school! We prefer stays of about one week, we are also happy to consider your suggestion.

We have 4 at home in the family now (Mum, Dad, 2 boys 13 & 17 yrs) + 1 old hound & 1 young dog, 1 feline, hens, budgie & just one goose. Our older children have 'flown the coop'.

Our household is a typically busy one & hectic at times, so visitors need to be self-sufficient :-). We welcome you to join in whatever is happening at the time, and are always interested in getting to know you.
Both Chris and I work in the city - Chris teaches, I am a laboratory technician. The kids go to school in Tawa.
We would be happy to have help with weeding and mulching in the orchard and gardens, and general help around the house. Other jobs include digging post holes, care of our animals and maintenance of their enclosures, pruning, fencing, housework, window cleaning, car cleaning, dog washing....
Four hours work per helper per day for each nights stay, three meals per day provided. Own bedroom with queen-sized bed. Bathroom shared with the kids. Unlimited broadband (though sometimes the Wi-Fi gets turned off to control use by the teenagers... ;-) ).
Our home and property are strictly no smoking (inside AND outside).
Thanks for looking at our profile!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use