help exchange   Host 36657
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 6
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 36657
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 4, 2019


I live in Uusi-värtsilä, a village in Tohmajärvi, North-Karelia, close to the Russian border. Here you find forests, bogs, remains of stone-age villages, spring water lakes, rivers, wild animals, clean air and interesting people. Perfect!

I'm a masseur/yoga teacher/woodartisan. I live in a house that previously housed several families that housed workers from the the village foundry. The foundry was run down in the 60:s and the village got quiet. Now the village is a quiet place with many empty houses around.
I'm now restoring the house since it had been empty for years and was in really bad condition, same with the garden. We built two dome greenhouses in the garden, this year we are building a third during the summer. This Summer there is a nearby field that we are using for plantig a variety of edibles.

I have a little workshop where I make bentwood furniture and wooden handicrafts. I invite helpers to share the costless joy of gardening, planting, handicrafts, yoga, meditation, massage, making tinctures, cooking, baking tree bark bread, picking berries, mushrooms, picking wild edible plants, making natural balms, and so much more. I think the world has gone more or less crazy/insane so I try to do something different. I strive to create as little waste as possible and to have a neutral carbon footprint. My goal is to live as sustainably and resiliently as possible, learning more about it every day. Sometimes handicraft courses and yoga sessions are arranged at the house for small groups. There is many different things to see, do and experience. Hiking, fishing catfood, yoga (6 days a week), singing, playing music, astrology, handicrafts, art, sauna, canoe, swimming, living etc. I have a scooter, wheelchair with engine, bicycles to use and a little boat a bit further away from the house. If needed I can borrow a car.

Helpers have their own bedroom. And Wi-fi in the house

The food is vegan/wild and mostly local, there is two cats in the house.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use