help exchange   Host 36960
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Mount Forest
All Year: May to September
Area (ha): 50
Persons: 1 to 2, couple good
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 36960
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 21, 2018

My beautiful 50 acre farm is surrounded by even more farms giving views that are a feast for the eyes. Living off-grid with some solar, the absence of electricity simply seems to go by unnoticed. It's a little rustic here with outhouse, solar shower and outdoor kitchen but that never seems to be a hardship. The fields are currently farmed by an organic Mennonite dairy farmer as there are many Mennonites in the area still driving their horse and buggies.

I am looking for help for general labour, to prepare the barn and surrounding area with the intention of providing the space and cabins for healing or writing retreats. Some of this will be expanding the garden so we can eat well and organically, planting trees, creating paths and lots of building. We'll add an indoor composting toilet, shower, bedroom and dorm rooms to the barn, after cleaning it out of course. I have a strong background in building and renovating so if you don't that's okay, I am happy to teach you. Currently I am offering mostly woodworking workshops for women at the barn, you can get a sense of what that's about by checking out

You will probably have your own small cabin to stay in, and meals will be prepared in our outdoor kitchen in exchange for about 25 hours a week of help. It would be great if you would prepare some or a lot of the meals, especially when I am there teaching.
There may be times when I am working away or visiting and you may be at the farm alone for a day or two, it is extremely safe and there is an abundance of peace and quiet, but I understand that is not everyone's comfort zone.
The small town of Mount Forest is 6 km away, an easy bike ride, or we can drive. There is a river close by, internet in town. Toronto would be the closest major city/airport and we could figure out how to get you here and back.
My preference is shorter stays, a week or two, and couples are very welcome, as are singles of course.

It's pretty laid back here, I am interested in trying to live lightly on this earth, learning, teaching, building, yoga, good meals,laughing, an occasional beer, solitude, sharing, are all part of it. There are dogs, sheep and hopefully chickens this year, weekends may bring friends with more dogs and helping hands. If this sounds the way you live, or would like to live your life it would be wonderful to meet you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use