help exchange   Host 37140
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Marlboro
All Year: April - October
Area (ha): 18
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37140
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 3, 2017

We live in a two-acre clearing in the foothills of the Green Mountains in Southern Vermont. Beautiful hiking trails weave through the mostly-hardwood forest and connect our house to Marlboro College and the little village of Marlboro, Vermont. In July and August we walk through the woods to the world-class concerts of the Marlboro Music Festival. (We like to host a few private chamber music concerts at the house as well.) Another trail brings us to the shores of South Pond where we swim and canoe and visit with friends.

Our spacious sunny home is solar-powered and heated with firewood from our forest. We began the long-term project of clearing land and building the house in 2010. With the timber-frame house finished, we are now focusing on establishing raised bed vegetable gardens, a perennial herb garden, and a small orchard of fruit trees. Permaculture principles guide the design and process.

This year we are also enjoying the pleasures of caring for twin daughters, Sarah and Jasmine, born in November 2014. Our two-year-old dog, Frieda, is the other lively and affectionate member of our family who is always happy to go on a walk in the woods with a two-legged companion.

In the summer of 2015 we will be hosting a few young adults (college student friends and other volunteers) who enjoy group work projects, swimming in the pond, and singing around the campfire. Work projects will include: planting and tending vegetable gardens, splitting and stacking firewood, building a compost bin, planting trees, clearing a hiking trail, and caring for two babies under a year old.

Every morning we host a half-hour silent meditation in our meditation room (also open to friends and neighbors) and would be happy for folks to use that space for yoga, chi gong, and other restorative practices at other times of day.

Accommodations include a secluded meadow for tenting and an indoor shower, kitchen, dining room, and living room. The house is universally accessible. Meals are shared together in the main house. We can accommodate any dietary needs with advanced notice. William is fluent in German; Kirstin knows a bit of Swedish. We would welcome dogs if they are well-behaved and healthy. (Frieda loves playing with other dogs.)

We ask guests to stay for a minimum of one week; the maximum stay would be two months. The nearby city of Brattleboro, Vermont is accessible by bus and train and we will gladly drive volunteers from there to Marlboro.

Note: Our volunteer positions are now full for the summer of 2017. First openings are in September.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use