help exchange   Host 37170
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Ste suzanne sur vire
All Year: no
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 1
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 37170
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 19, 2019

Hi folks, fancy a stay at my BnB for the summer, enjoy the bird song and wildlife of the Manche countryside, helping me with some DIY, renovating gardening. The gardens have fallen into disrepair as I can't take the winters there. I'm just bout to go back after being away for a year. My house is out of town so you'll need a car, or some kind of transport, nearest village Conde sur Vire is 2km away. Nearest large town ST.LO 8km Capital town of La Manche. You will have your own en-suite bedroom, There is UK TV, mobile internet but no landline. If you like to grow your own - then there's plenty of space to do so. You can smoke indoors but not in your bedroom. I am easy going and would enjoy some company as my French is disgraceful. So if you speak some French too you'd be on the short list. I am a gardener by trade, but have grown up within the catering business. I moved to France in 2004 with my late partner, who was a very clever man and could put his hand to anything, and I'm looking for someone who can also be a master of all trades. It's a big ask. But not a deal breaker. He died in 2009 and I stayed for another three years finishing off the house. There are many snagging jobs left to finish still, and it seems that as soon as you get one thing completed another one pops up...... Just like magic!!!! I have two chimneys in need of attention, one needs unblocking and height adding with stone, I have a Godin wood burner which can heat the whole house (almost) but it canít be used, as the chimney blockage restricts it. It will need re-instating too. The other needs sealing properly, I have a leak to my conservatory roof, by way of building inaccuracies sadly. The water and electricity supply to my caravan need re running itís not a difficult job everything is in place and there is a wire to pull new lines through itís just the time consequence for me. Some of my decking needs replacing and a part of the wooden support to my terracing has rotted away and needs renewing. There is some stone work needed around two windows and a first floor door, and some internal lime rendering required. There is the potential for central heating to much of the house, as the radiators are in place but no boiler to run it, there is space for a water tank to supply the radiators but this would entail running pipes to the hopefully wood burning boiler. Thereís land clearance and strimming, grass cutting and weed killing. I have to use poison to do this as my property is so big I donít have the time to dig them up out of the gravel courtyard or driveway Ė both of which are large and long. So as you can see I have my hands full and it is only me who has the will to work at it. I decorate and cook - but not all at the same time. I am constantly gardening and enjoy this work. There are all mod cons, when it isnít raining the conservatory which overlooks the pond is a lovely space to enjoy watching the wildlife. I have been known to have a few glasses of wine in the evening so I am not a screaming nun about alchohol with in reason. So if you think you'd like gardening, cooking and story telling, DIY, joke telling with a bit of telly thrown in for good measure, and can cope with all the above get in touch. You can be solitary or sociable and if you want the later you will have some good company, as you traverse your "Happy Trails" I am an out of my depth English woman, who needs some entertaining and a motor so she can escape her prison paradise.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use