help exchange   Host 37209
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Tryon
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 15
Persons: 1 adult or 1 couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37209
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 3, 2020

We have not hosted a farm helper while we renovated our farm we now have newly remodeled bathrooms, two new barns.
We started our homestead here in horse country, North Carolina in 2012. We were here only a short time before we discovered the teaching of Geoff Lawton, Bill Mollison, and many others. We have a PDC from Geoff Lawton's first online course. Also, an excellent library for people interested in learning the sustainability principles, including the Designers Manual, The Holistic Orchard, The Resilient Farm and Homestead, and others. We also have all of Geoff's PDC CDs from the online course. It would be an effective use of your visit to try and complete the course before you leave.

We are particularly interested in integrating equiculture into our system. We have three horses. We are building paddocks and laneways with electrical fencing. We will have two baby piglets in June.

We use a rain collection system and we are building an irrigation system into it. We have a Mike Oehler style greenhouse under the final stages of construction.

I live here with my husband. We like good food, art, nature, and animals. For entertainment, we like board games and have a very wide selection of Euro-style boardgames. We enjoy watching the Grand Prix jumping at TIEC home to ( 2018 World Equestrian Games) 7 miles down the road and trips to the local Farmer Markets.

If you're an artist, our place offers a great chance to take some fabulous photographs or paint. We have two honeybee hives and we spend time with the bees. We will try to catch some more wild swarms this spring.

Opportunities :Short and long term volunteer-work stays from 2 weeks to a year-long. 20 to 30 flex hours per person a week depending on skill level in exchange a small fully furnished one bedroom apartment with Queen bed , one bathroom in our day light basement has its own small fully equipped kitchen and private entrance. limited phone use, cable, WiFi, Use of laundry. A food allowance is available when produce is in season. We offer a small monthly stipend depending on hours worked to cover food and other basic not already included. You will be responsible for making your own meals. We will have a few shared meals each month.
We can not accept anyone who does drugs or alcoholic’s, Prefer non smokers. We are unable to accept anyone who is traveling with pets and children. We are near two of the best art cities on the east coast, Asheville and Greenville, SC. We are also only 2 to 4 hours from here to Charlotte or Atlanta respectively.
If you are interested in visiting, please email us with some information about yourself and your experience/interests. We will send you a application, write you back with more details .

Need help maintaining gardens ,fruit trees, cleaning some wooded areas.

reviews (3)
Helper: Joseph Kemp Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 25, 2017
My stay here lasted right around 5 months, but prior to that I had been comin... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Kyra and Jake Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 9, 2016
We were able to stay here for almost 2 beautiful months. The farm is on a bea... view complete review

Helper: Brooke and John Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 19, 2015
Greetings! We were happy to be Katrina and Edwin’s very first helpers and ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use