help exchange   Host 37388
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Rocky Mountain House
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37388
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 7, 2020

Hello!!

Do you want to spend some time on a beautiful acreage near the mountains? Where your hosts are relaxed, easy going and open minded folk who just want to make the world a better place? A place where you will get a real taste for rural Canadian life!!

We would love to host you!

Spring is almost here and we are getting busy. Finding a helper or two would be GREAT!!

We are a blended family of 5 that enjoys hiking, hunting, fishing, camping, gardening and all sorts of outdoor activities. When we aren't working, we are playing and relaxing with the kids, visiting with friends, finding mountain adventures to go on or fishing nearby rivers and lakes. We Unschool our two kids(10 and 13) and really love hosting people who enjoy sharing their culture with us and get along well with kids! We also have 3 cats and a big fluffy dog who loves cuddles and always need attention!!

This year we'd like to install a garden, do some landscaping and possibly get some chickens. Of course, help will be greatly appreciated in that area. Main Tasks include feeding and watering the pets, walking the dog twice per day, sharing meal duties, dishes/house keeping, yard work, grocery shopping, child care(on an as-needed basis), taking kids on field trips/outings/adventures, teaching our children about your country/culture! We like to play as hard as we work so rest assured you'll have lots of free time, as well! We typically ask our guests to stay at least two weeks. You are welcome to stay longer than two weeks as we always love to have the extra help and company. Most of our guests have come for two weeks and stayed for 4+. The cultural exchange is our favourite part and youll find we try to make our guests feel at home!!

Our property is situated on a beautiful acreage out in the Canadian countryside. There`s plenty of opportunity to explore and hike the area and the North Saskatchewan river is just a short hike away.

We have unlimited Wi-Fi and Netflix. Town is only 15min away and it's an hour drive to the mountains where you will find waterfalls, mountain lakes and amazing hiking spots. The dog is welcome and would love to tag along for adventures if she's on a leash.

We prefer if you have a drivers licence. Even better if you have your own car. We'd like to host someone who is comfortable running errands, grocery shopping and taking the kids about. We also have a car that can be made available if you're a great fit and don't have a car of your own. Worth noting that one of us is a licenced mechanic and able to help you with repairs while you're here!! We are open to hosting you even if you don't have a car or licence so please reach out if you feel called to stay with us.

We have hosted some really amazing people from all over the world. Australia, Chile, Ireland, France, Germany, England, China.. the list goes on!! Food is always a favourite way to connect for us and we love to share recipes and cook delicious meals with and for our traveling friends. We also LOVE to have authentic dishes shared with us. We find hosting to be an extremely enriching experience for everyone involved and really look forward to welcoming our next guests!!


Cheers,
Stephanie and Family.

We are LGBTQ and 420 friendly. All are welcome.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use