help exchange   Host 37563
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hobart
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37563
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 29, 2018

Brad, myself (Laura) and Malu our beautiful daughter have been living for three years on our bush block here in Tassie. We have built a shack and shed from recycled materials. We are now 100% off grid on solar power, providing our own veggies for 12 months and hope to get some fruit from the orchard this year.The land itself has a spring and an old quarry, a north facing aspect and beautiful surrounding views. The bush is 20 yo regrowth as the farm used to run cattle.

Our vision is an organic, sustainable farm/community to grow old on with our friends and family. We are into natural/alternative building and permaculture. One of our major aims is to reduce our waste!

This year's project is getting a market garden up and and running to sell chemical free produce locally.

We are looking for 1-2 people/couple to help with the market garden and learn about small scale food production and off grid living. Work days will be set each week with a total 20 hours per week for food and board. Please only contact us if you have a genuine interest in this type of work.

We have a mezzanine above the shed for you to stay in but will need to share our bathroom and outside composting toilet. It is warm but basic.

There are plenty of lovely places to see nearby, Bruny Island, Cygnet, Tahune Airwalk and the nearest shop is a 15 min drive.

Small families welcome, LGBTQI community welcome, smoking outside only, vegan and vego welcome (we eat meat we hunt but also eat heaps of vego too), pets considered on an individual basis.
We are looking for people to stay for 3-12weeks especially over the summer months which are stunning in this part of Tassie!

We are easy going, respectful people and are learning as we go, contact me with any questions!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use