help exchange   Host 3764
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Seattle
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): City Lot
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 3764
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 29, 2020

We are a family in Seattle, Washington. We are interested in hosting a person or two who could help with some general upkeep, deep cleaning the kitchen, walk the dog, paint walls, paint fences, and yard work.

Our house gets lots of use from kids, friends and our dog. Short term stays are best for us (around a week, plus or minus).

We ask for 4 hours of work per day (except for arrival and departure days). It's OK to work longer days and then take days off - we are flexible. You have your own bedroom & bathroom to use.

We have two "kids", 18 and 20. We enjoy meeting people from other cultures! Both kids are away at university, so it's just Mark & Sally while university is in session.

Our home is near a bus line - 30 minutes to the city center. Walking distance to library, shops and cafes. You are welcome to borrow a bicycle to explore (be prepared for hills!).

We like helpers who are friendly, comfortable around kids and a dog, and easy going. All of our helpers so far have found a good balance between engaging with us and giving us some family space.

We have hosted a number of HelpX visitors, and we have enjoyed each exchange tremendously. Arrive as strangers and leave as friends. We are looking forward to more positive exchange experiences! We DO ask for references - we will ask you to provide the name and contact info for someone who can vouch for your good character.

Here are thanks to past HelpX-ers who stayed with us:
Sue from South Africa - thank you for all the yard work and good advice!
Sue from the USA - thank you for teaching us to stilt walk!
Katharina from Austria - thank you for taking the kids to the beach!
Anja from Germany - thank you for making homemade bread!
Ruth from the UK - thank you for painting in the kitchen!
Emma from New Zealand - thank you for painting!! And for hosting us in NZ!
Cliona from Ireland - thank you for painting and for taking us kayaking!
Jess from Australia - thank you for digitizing my photos!
Megan and Sara from NZ - thank you for helping host the huge party at our school!
Guy and Sara and kids: thank you for pressure washing, painting and setting up the trampoline!
Gracie - thank you for weed pulling, kitchen scrubbing and college advice!
Camille and Blandine - thank you for deep-cleaning and cooking!
Marion from France - thanks for helping us throw a fun party!
Vivien from Germany - thanks for all the cleaning help!
Dan from NZ -thanks for yardwork, kitchen cleaning and window squeegee-ing!
Romaine from France - thanks for your hard work on our landscaping and for the cakes!

Honestly, we don`t host too often - maybe once or twice a year. Feel free to contact us of course. Happy Travels!

reviews (8)
Helper: Romain Louvet Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 31, 2018
I stayed with that wonderful family for a little bit more than a week, workin... view complete review

Helper: Vivien Rippe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 24, 2017
For everyone who likes families, dogs and the American way of life in a beaut... view complete review

Helper: Marion Renard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 28, 2016
Sally and her family welcomed me to share one week of very positive, fun and ... view complete review

Helper: Cliona Dowling Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: September 26, 2013
I had a brilliant stay with Sally and her family at the beginning of my stay ... view complete review

Helper: Ruth Winter Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 30, 2013
I had an amazing 10 day stay with Sally and her family in Seattle. She is r... view complete review

Helper: Sue oriley Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 24, 2011
Kindness and funness abounds in this home, I was immediately welcomed, arrive... view complete review

Helper: Katharina Foelhs Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: December 1, 2010
I had a great help exchange in Seattle!! They are such a nice family, I felt ... view complete review

Helper: Sue Bramhall Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: South Africa Date: August 6, 2009
This family are great! I had a really great time with them all and i went bac... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use