help exchange   Host 37649
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


New Orleans
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 (- 4?)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 37649
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 9, 2017

Hey there!
My name's Danny and I'm a 32 yr old lady. I spent a few years traveling around the world through helpx and now own a duplex in New Orleans. It's a short walk to St. Claude and Bywater, and a slightly longer walk to the French Quarter. The house is in pretty good condition, but I'm looking for "handy" people with construction, plumbing and/or electrical experience. There are also some odd jobs that I could use help with around the place, so if you aren't especially handy, I can probably find something to keep you busy.
The main projects I'd like to complete next are:

- Rebuilding the storage shed in the backyard
- Putting up a gate on my wooden fence
- Some finishing work on a renovation project




I have friends with tools, so I think we'd be able to get everything we need for all of these projects. I'm not looking for long term guests - basically, you can crash at my place for a long weekend, maybe up to a week(?) if you can do some of the things on the list. I guess how long you stay depends on how much you feel like doing/how much fun we're having.

My place is a 700 sq ft shotgun, and you'd be staying in the front room which has a futon, or there's an air mattress if you prefer. If you really wanted, you could maybe cram in 3 people, or if you have mats, you could sleep a few extra people on the floor. My bedroom is in the back, and has a door that goes out to the backyard, so there's a reasonable amount of privacy, or, we can at least come and go as we please without disturbing one another. My kitchen and bathroom that are totally nice and functional. I don't have internet, but the library, and some cafes with wifi are just a few blocks away. There are restaurants, bars, convenience shops, and a laundromat all within walking/biking distance of my place.
I have friends working on different cool projects around my area (also on helpx), so there are always people to hangout with, and fun things to do. If you want to do your own thing, I'll just give you a key and that's fine with me, and if you want to hang, I'm down.
And just a heads up, my next door neighbor has tons of roosters who crow all the time, and I dumpster dive for most of my food, so if that grosses you out, you can buy your own. And I prefer that you don't cook meat in my place.
Hope to hear from you!
Danny

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use