help exchange   Host 37757
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Errington
All Year: no
Area (ha): 1.25 acre
Persons: 1 or 2 (If 1-female)
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37757
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 16, 2020

****Not currently looking for helpers.

We are a homeschooling family of four with a cat, puppy, chickens and ducks. Accommodation is in a private travel trailer (1 queen bed and an extra if needed) on our property with meals and shower/laundry in the house. The cozy trailer has wifi, a sink, toilet, fridge and tv/dvd player for the evening. We eat a mostly organic diet and like to source local food. Meals would be a mix of prepared and serve yourself. We will feed you well! Contact to discuss any special dietary needs.

We have expanding organically grown vegetable and flower/herb gardens and a big greenhouse, and work would mostly involve a lot of weeding and small landscape and building projects. Currently that includes moving manure and mulch, as well as raking, repairing fencing and building additional poultry housing. No special skills needed, but the ability to handle physical labour in all weather and work independently is key as we are not always around. Cleaning and other housework possible for very rainy days. We are flexible with hours worked to allow you downtime to enjoy and explore.

In exchange for room and board we ask for 4 hours of work a day. You would have access to mountain bikes to explore the great biking trails just down the road. We are also a short bike ride to Englishman River Falls Provincial Park as well as many private spots along the river, and biking distance to the popular Coombs Market. There are many beautiful hiking trails in our area and often music shows and events at our local community hall. We are a fifteen minute drive to the ocean beaches of Parksville and Qualicum Beach. Errington is just over two hours to Victoria and Tofino, well situated to explore our beautiful Island.

It would be beneficial to have own transportation given our location, however we are very close to the beautiful river and trails and trips to town can easily be arranged on some days.

We have hosted twice now and it has been a great experience. We woof'd ourselves in NZ years ago so we now enjoy providing a good experience and meeting new people.

reviews (2)
Helper: Iris and Lionel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 24, 2019
We stayed 2 weeks with James, Julie, Marley and Lucia and it was an amazing e... view complete review

Helper: Janine and Yvonne Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 18, 2015
Woofing - Woofing We got the chance to spend almost two weeks with this litt... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use