help exchange   Host 37788
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hollister
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37788
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 1, 2020

Next opening May 2020 pending status of Covid 19 virus, for one person only.

Farm Description: We are a small dairy goat farm located in the Central Coast region of California surrounded by rolling hills of oak woodlands and local area vineyards; a quiet, peaceful setting ten miles from the nearest town. Our farm is six acres and home to goats, sheep, chickens, ducks, dogs, cats and some raised beds for our kitchen garden.

The work and learning opportunities:
Our busy season runs January – November. After a two week trial period, a longer term may be agreed to. Milking and feeding take place twice a day; morning and evening. We generally try to schedule our work from 8 – 12 plus feeding and milking after dinner leaving the afternoons free for optional activities.
Ongoing activities consist of milking goats, gathering eggs, feeding and caring for the farm animals plus planting and maintaining the vegetable beds. We have many other skills to share including quilting, rug making, rug loom construction, bread making, cheese making, bone broth, food preservation and processing lambs and poultry depending on the season.

Farm work often entails manual labor working on the end of a shovel cleaning pens, pulling weeds/operating the weed eater, unloading hay, etc. You must be physically fit with a genuine interest in learning and contributing some help with the workload. We are looking for someone that is respectful, open minded, a positive attitude and able to work independently. Good communication skills and ability to speak and understand English. Someone with a love and appreciation of farm animals!

2020 goals: Establish bigger area of edible herbs and berries. Several painting projects. Construct retaining wall. Build a greenhouse. Establish Bee Colony.

Food/Meals: We are a semi-retired couple with daughter and grandkids ages 10 & 13. We enjoy delicious, healthy, home cooked meals. We have a plentiful supply of eggs, goat milk, goat cheese and vegetables from the garden. We raise and process most of our meat; lamb and poultry. If you’re interested in fermented food with all their probiotics, we make kefir, kombucha and fermented veggies including kimchi. The menu is mostly organic and we avoid processed, packaged “food.” Gluten free diets are welcome. Be aware you will be helping to process lamb & poultry on our farm. We have our meals together and expect participation in meal preparation and clean up. If you are a vegan or vegatarian I feel like you will miss out on the farm experience here and it would not be the best fit for you or for us. On our farm, raising, processing, preparing and sharing our food together around the kitchen table is what living and working on this farm is all about.

Accommodations, location and other information
Helpxer accommodations consist of a 19` travel trailer with heat and air conditioning and a comfortable bed. We are out in the country, nearest town is 20 minutes drive however there is a bus/train station 40 minutes away and pick up and drop off can be arranged. Our helpxers are our guests and included in our activities as part of the family. I go into town once a week to do errands which always include a visit to the library; you are welcome to join me. A great place to get away from the busy city life; there is no tv reception here, only verizon cell service works. After work it’s an ideal environment for someone seeking quiet time for reading, writing, drawing, etc. There’s walking/hiking in the hills or through the vineyard and swimming in the pool during warm weather.

We are located just one hour from the Pacific Ocean (the beach), Monterey Peninsula, Santa Cruz, San Jose, or the Pinnacles National Park. Two hours drive to San Francisco or Big Sur. There are three wineries within one mile of farm.

Finding a good fit for the helpxer and the host
Communication is important and our goal is to provide an awesome experience for our Helpxer. Please e-mail us with your questions, any work or helpxing experience you have, what farm aspects interest you and what you would hope to gain through time at our farm. If you have allergies or special dietary requirements please address them in your initial email. We do not accept helpxers with children or pets; no smokers, no drugs. We require references or a minimum of two reviews on your profile. We also ask that you carry medical or travel insurance, please confirm in your email that you do. You will receive a reply within 24 hours. We only accommodate one person at a time and prefer a longer stay.

Calendar: Some farm activities only happen seasonally, so I tried to list them in case there is something you are particularly interested in experiencing. We host one person at a time. We prefer longer stays and weekly email communication until your arrival.

May: Goat show. Baby goats due & bottle feeding,
6/1/20 – 7/31/20 Open space. Seasonal activities: Butcher chickens and a lamb
8/1/20 – 9/30/20 Open space. Seasonal activities: Butcher a lamb, plant fall garden. Breeding sheep and goats.
10/1/20 – 11/30/20 Open space. Seasonal activities: Plant garlic, butcher a lamb. Breeding sheep and goats

12/28/20 - 2/28/21. Open space. Seasonal activities: Baby goats due, bottle feeding. Baby ducks arrive, butcher lamb.

3/1 - 4/30/21 Open space. Seasonal activities: baby lambs due, baby goats due, bottle feeding, baby chicks arrive, butcher lamb.


reviews (2)
Helper: Kelby Archer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 13, 2016
I spent nearly two months with John and Janet, and it was a wonderful, life-c... view complete review

Helper: Michael Sahale Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: February 12, 2016
I had a wonderful stay here. John and Janet are wonderful, warm-hearted, and ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use