help exchange   Host 37984
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Linden
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2 if couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 37984
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 2, 2020

Looking for animal lovers and responsible helpers!!!

Located approx. 1 hour north of Calgary, set in the rolling hills of Kneehill county in the shadows of the Rockies. The nearest airport is Calgary.

We are looking for helpers to help develop our new (if not rather old 95yo) house, to help work and train our 4 horses, and to experience first hand the Canadian way of life.

Recent Horse experience is a MUST as there will be some (if not a lot of) riding involved,(Not so much in winter as its difficult to ride when everything is icy) and we don`t have the time to train beginner riders. Helmet and boots must be worn when riding.

Training and caring for our horses involves working with young and/or advanced horses trained in Western and/or English.

Experience in renovations is not required as you will learn to use a whole range of power tools and skills during your stay, but honesty, enthusiasm and motivation are.

Love of animals is a must as we have 6 cats and a dog. And all of them will be in your close proximity 24/7

We live near a small, quiet hamlet (no night club and crazy party, although the coyotes can be pretty loud ;) ), so we hope you like the peace and quiet, nature and relax. The nearest town is more than 40 mins drive away.

We speak English, French and German (and a little bit of Spanish), so if you wish to improve your English, we can help ;), but we will only speak English in the home.

There will be times our helpers will be alone due to both of us working.

Examples of jobs needed doing:

Build a round pen and fencing
Clean up pastures and yard
Helping with home renovations
Working, walking and riding horses
Taking care of the garden
Building Kitchen Cabinet doors
Building walls in basement
Laying of flooring both laminate and stone
Fixing eavestroughing

ALL FUN !

Please understand, this is a ranch and you will be getting dirty and sometimes smelly. You will have full use of laundry facilities.

We are a non smoking home, and please limit the amount of perfume and makeup due to allergies.
We would prefer helpers to stay a minimum of 2 weeks (to enable a better bond with the horses)

Hope to hear from you soon.

reviews (10)
Helper: Nolwenn Le Rouzic Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 14, 2019
Soline's. This was my first Helpx experience. Mitch taught me a lot and show... view complete review

Helper: Lauranne and Cyprien Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 7, 2019
What a pleasure to be at your house and help you ! Mitch and Soline are defin... view complete review

Helper: Jana Hettwer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 26, 2018
Mitch and Soline are great hosts. It was always fun with them. I loved going ... view complete review

Helper: Annabell Beller Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: December 3, 2017
I stayed at Solines and Mitches place for almost two months and canít nothing... view complete review

Helper: Samuel and Hanna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 2, 2017
One of our best hosts! We spent 2 weeks with Soline and Mitch and had a great... view complete review

Helper: Maud and Alice Saelens Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Belgium Date: September 13, 2017
We spent just a few days at their place taking care of their horses. It is be... view complete review

Helper: Myriam and Jan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 17, 2017
Mitch and Soline are great hosts. Very welcoming and fun to be around. They m... view complete review

Helper: Isabel Everard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 3, 2016
I stayed with Mitch and Soline for a month in June and had a fantastic time! ... view complete review

Helper: Sarah Luchino Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: June 12, 2016
Better late than never! :) I stayed at Mitch and Soline's place for 2 weeks l... view complete review

Helper: Bryony Thayre Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 5, 2015
Tremendously welcoming, friendly hosts. Delightful animals to work and play ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use