help exchange   Host 37985
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Hospitality
Host ID: 37985
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 21, 2015

Hi! We are a family running a holiday accommodation business with 2 mongolian yurts in the centre of Portugal. We are set in the mountains surrounded by eucalyptus forest with plenty of brooks and river beaches. We owe around 2000 m2 of woodland with lots of fruit and nut trees, and herb garden all growing organically, but are not a farm.
We are looking for creative, enthusiastic, hard working, clean and organized volunteers to help with gardening, landscaping, land clearing, fencing, carpentry, building, and sometimes cleaning. Skills in gardening, permaculture, landscaping, green building, and fencing are very welcomed, as is anybody with artistic and creative skills!
Help will be welcomed for a minimum of 1 week and maximum of 8 weeks, but may lead to a longer stay if desired by both sides.
Depending on availability volunteers would stay in a yurt, with access to compost toilet and outside shower, or in our attic en-suite bedroom with private entrance ideal for couples. You will have access to cooking facilities. We will cook and eat together sometimes and other times food will be available for you to make your own meals.
We expect around 5-6 hours a day for your food and accommodation, however some days it may be a bit more than this and some days it may be less depending on what jobs we are doing (we are happy to be flexible). You will have at least one day off a week.
In your spare time, there is a lot to see and do in the local area: exploring the river beaches and waterfalls, the local forest walks and wild life.
There is one friendly dog and three friendly cats living on the grounds.
We are about 7km from the nearest village where there are some small shops, cafes, bank, pharmacy and restaurant. If you have your own transport that would be an advantage but otherwise, we can, whenever possible, give you lifts.
We are looking forward to meeting you and hopefully inspiring each other.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use