help exchange   Host 38054
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Lumby, BC
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 38054
Region: BC, South Central

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 5, 2019

Welcome to our host site. We are a gay couple, and dreamed of owning our own hobby farm, and decided to make that a reality. If you are wanting to learn about farm animals and work with farm animals then you will enjoy our farm. An interest in learning about farm animals is a MUST to stay here. We are a small hobby farm, in the summer we have a garden, and in the fall several apple trees that need to be harvested. We have a very small herd of 9 cows and calves, 20+ goats. We also have miniature horses and two large riding horses (no we don't allow anyone to ride them, sorry), and one mule. We also have chickens and turkeys, and 2 baby geese. Our animals are very close to us, and we tend to spoil them a little. All our animals are very friendly and love to be petted. We also have working livestock guardian dogs that protect our property and farm animals from wild predators like coyotes and bear and eagles. They take their jobs seriously, but are very affectionate with humans. A typical day here will include being up by approximately 7 am most days and start the day by feeding and watering the animals. That takes 1 hour depending on the time of year. Then during the rest of the day there is always something that needs to be done, ranging from garden work to cleaning out barns or chicken houses, or yard work. Your accommodation may be in our home or in our guest house depending on the time of year. We do expect some help with cleaning up after meals or sweeping the floor if you notice it is dirty. We welcome anyone with any carpentry skills!!!!! We look forward to meeting you!
We do have a few rules, based on past experience:
-We also ask that you be able to understand and speak English. We are ok with english not being your first language as long as you can understand and speak english well enough to understand our instructions to you.
-No smoking or drugs of any kind on our property. No vaping.
-You must be able to do physical activity like lifting a pale of water or bale of hay or straw.
-If you don't like animals and are going to be afraid to touch them or interact with them, then our farm is not a place for you.
- We are LGBT friendly.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use