help exchange   Host 38160
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


County Sligo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1 or 2, Couples,
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38160
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 17, 2019

We are a private 3 bedroom small family home in rural west of Ireland.

We need help/helpers , ideally a couple , ideally females but open to single or two friends or any couple etc

Currently we need help ASAP with cleaning, housework, dog minding etc so open to suggestions and short stay.

In general the longer you are open to staying with us the better it is. Less stressful for us.

An addition to our origional Profile. We got a little dog named Milo. Born the first of June 2018.Need help with dog sitting,training, looking after it, and building a fence, doggy door, dog house etc

We need general Home Help near the Atlantic Ocean, West of Ireland, the wild Atlantic way.
Practical tasks to be done at present range from daily home domestic to DIY, gardening, to household maintenance, budgeting to internet research.

Currently exploring the possibility on raising the standard of accomodation so as to commence hosting Air BnB.
And /or
Evolving a daily creative practice to create and produce artworks.Then exploring marketing / sales both on line, in local markets and to contemporary art museums for exhibition .

Hosts ; Career in contemporary art and third level education.
Interested in the exchange of cultural, creative, thoughts, art forms, music, song, dance, healing, mindfulness, tai chi,energy and spirituality.

Apart from regular daily domestic tasks, we welcome support/ advice / suggestions with organisation, budgeting ,time management, goal setting and motivation.

We would love someone to be encouraging and a positive inspirational energy in our home.

In relation to practical tasks we would like help with cleaning, cooking,house and garden maintenance. DIY tasks, organisation, planning, learning to, declutter ,cease pattern of collecting, setting up storage systems,home office set up,budgeting system, . internet research, implementing structures ,systems for house, home, garden, life style for clarity and easy action flow of a less stressful daily life etc.

We suggest an average of approximately 4 /5 hours work a day ( but we are very flexible ) in exchange full free accommodation (bed, food, utilities). We try to be vegetarian, and healthy eaters but we have one meat eater in our home.We provide all the basic food and helpers can buy their own junk food
Currently helper/s have a private bedroom (double bed) in our home.
If we have extra family visiting on a weekend helpers often use the sleeping loft for those few nights.

As expected in shared living spaces, they must be kept clean and tidy with consideration for others. It is expected that guests have respect for the difference between shared and private property.

We are very flexible on a working schedule depending on Irish weather and other commitments in life.

When we have time and energy we enjoy driving our helper guests around on our own personal guided tours, doing activities together, getting to know one another and sharing our skills, knowledge and interests.
We also assume that we share mutual respect and support each other.
It is important to us that guests in our home are honest, trustworthy and can maintain confidentiality about private lives when requested. We need someone independent , self motivated , who can use their own initiative .
You need to be prepared for hectic busy days with family visitors and then very quiet days with hours on your own with only your feet ( or bicycle) for independent movement.

Our home is a detached 3 bedroom in a green field less than an acre, ( 0.3 hectare ) countryside, west of Ireland , near a few houses, stone walls, green fields sheep , 1 little dog ,2 outdoor cats , between the Atlantic Ocean and Benbulben mountain range.

Primarily career work with contemporary visual art / live performance art, installation, photography, video, sculpture, public art, community, but also music, dance, song, poetry, storytelling, social and cultural heritage.

We have a great love of Irish Cultural Heritage. From the archaeology, stone circles, old pre christian customs, the Irish language, music, dance and song. We can do a little of them all, and teach you if you wish.

Other passions, learning about healing, energy work, spiritual paths, practice, mindfulness, mental health and wellness.

We speak basic Italian and Irish, our native Gaelic language.Plus a few words of French. One of us had just started learning Spanish in school.

We do our best to be welcoming, friendly, accepting and non-judgmental hosts.

We can be very flexible about most things in terms of duties, length of stay etc. it all depends on how well we all get on together. We think of you as a helpful guest in our home, we are supporting each other.
We value and expect honesty, trustworthiness, kindness, empathy and confidentiality.

We are creating a sleeping loft attic space upstairs for helper/s so we can use the spare room to generate income for air b n b or something like that.

Location : House is approximately 4 km north of Grange village with shop little supermarket, cafe with free Wi-Fi , pub with food and music , post office, RC church, pharmacy, doctor,dentist, playground, sports centre etc.

There is a very limited amount of bus public transport from Grange village to Sligo town/city.(Another 17km south)

Mobile smart phone gets good coverage at our home. There is unlimited Wi-Fi. Two good bicycles available for you thanks to our great volunteer helper Icke.

We have a very kind, friendly and supportive family of neighbours beside us.

You will have quiet time at home alone with puppy Milo with lots of free time and then some busy long days with lots to do , according to family scheduled.

County Sligo is a good tourist destination but as with all of rural Ireland it is difficult to access without your own transport. Public transport is minimal. though we have two good bicycles ,we expect them to be cared for and maintained in return.

North Sligo where we live is best known for beautiful landscape, rich historical and cultural heritage. Lots of outdoor activities in this area. Sea, beaches, river lake, waterfall , hills, dramatic Benbulben mountain outside your window .Famous surfing spots, lots of water sports ,boat trips, fishing, horse riding, horse racing, hill walking, hiking, cycling, bird watching, golf and across the bay an aero club. Gaelic football, hurling, soccer. Sligo county known as "The Yeats County" had the grave of famous poet WB Yeats. Lissadell house and gardens was home to Countess ( Gorebooth ) Markieviecz, the first woman in parliament. Lots of archaeology, dolmens, megalithic tombs and stone circles and fairy forts. Round tower, castle and an old stately home.. Monastic settlement remains on Innishmurray Island and curious shape of Knocknarea Mountain in the distance. Sligo town 20 kilometres away, 20,000 people, has a cinema, theatre. museum, arts centre , galleries, kids indoor play centre, shopping, pubs , live music, lectures, nightclubs, restaurants , internet cafe, third level educational institution and a festival most weekends . A collection of paintings by WB Yeats brother Jack , swimming pool, leisure centre and the Sligo Rovers Soccer Football club. Surrounding region has several spa hotels, cookery school and famous seaweed baths. South county Sligo gave us the famous Sligo style of Irish traditional music, visit birds of prey a folk park and a little fairy themed park.

Getting here to Sligo?
Options for Airports are Dublin, Shannon, and Belfast The closest is the little West of Ireland International one also called Knock in County Mayo.(West of Ireland airport)
Public transport by bus from the airports.
There is a Dublin Sligo train but also a Bus Eireann (national bus company) directly from Dublin airport to Sligo a few times a day. From Dublin Airport research your flight arrival time and departure of Expressway Route 23 to Sligo bus station. We will collect you in Sligo town bus or train station.

We plan to do Hosting Helpx indefinitely so keep us in mind for the future.

P.S. We are open to individual travelers, all varieties of couples, two friends, small family, single parent etc.

PPS I have to admit sometimes I am very slow to reply .

Another Update 2019
Our fantastic helper Michelle who ended up staying for 5 months and we are friends for life now,wrote up a daily routine for other helpers.

Daily Routine Schedule
Monday to Friday ( academic months/ Sept to May)

Help them get out in the mornings by 8 am, breakfast ,packed lunches etc
Toilet Milo the little dog, Feed him and 2 outdoor cats
Clean up the kitchen after they leave.
Start any laundry.
Make beds, Sweep or vacuum rooms, tidy up rooms
Tidy up and clean both bathrooms
Take Milo for a walk
Tidy up the sitting room, hang the laundry
The Evening
Have a salad snack ready.
Prepare dinner for around 7pm
9pm prepare healthy snack before bed.
Toilet Milo Tidy

Again we can be flexible and negotiate around tasks and times.


During the Academic/school year, we are out most of the day Monday to Friday and some evenings ,so you have lots of private, quiet time.
If you wish to travel to other places on weekends and still be our helper, we can be flexible with that too.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use