help exchange   Host 38309
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Glenlyon
All Year: Most of the time
Area (ha): 0.2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 38309
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 2, 2019

Hi, my name is Bronwyn and I live in the lovely, quiet hamlet of Glenlyon.

Glenlyon is one hour from Melbourne and 10 minutes from the tourist town of Daylesford where there are mineral springs, wineries etc.

My house is quite new and my land is half an acre in size (0.2 hectare). I would like help with planting, weeding, pruning, whipper snippering or spraying. Other work could include staining the deck (verandah) and a bit of cleaning. You do not need to have any experience but need to be happy to learn how to do these things, and be strong enough to wheel a wheelbarrow. We work for 4-6 hours per day. If you work quickly and thoroughly you will have more free time. If you work very slowly, you will work longer. There will be set jobs that need doing, so finishing the job is important.

I have, in the past, taken many first time HelpX helpers, but for now I prefer helpers with references.

I prefer helpers who are 26 years old or over (then I don`t have to be a parent). If you are younger and would like to stay at my place, please explain why I should host you. I prefer people who can take initiative, are independent, enjoy a chat and have life experience.

I am also looking for happy, positive people, I am both of those things and like to be surrounded by people who are interested in learning new things, who are inquisitive and who love life. I have spent a lot of my life being a teacher, I have taught English in Malaysia and Spain and have taught people from 4 years old to 84 (mainly teenagers and adults though). I have also taught Doctors and Nurses in Papua New Guinea `how to teach`. So, if needed, I can help you with your English.

Accommodation is a room with a queen sized bed and your own bathroom. Couples are welcome. I also have bunks in the study, if two singles.
I supply shampoo, conditioner and body wash which are all chemical free. I have a septic system (sewerage waste water) and do not want chemicals on my land.

Regarding meals, we share the cooking. I enjoy cooking but would like for you to cook for me as well as me cooking for you. I can teach you to cook if you are not very experienced. I can accommodate meat eaters or vegetarians, although we usually eat whatever we grow, so often the meals are vegetarian. Your job is to do the dishes. No smoking or drugs are allowed in my house or on my property. Wine is Ok though. If you are beer drinkers you will need to bring your own as I don`t usually have beer in the house.

A visit to my house involves being part of a community. We work together, cook and clean together. I will introduce you to my neighbours and family who live close by. We will have people over for dinner at least once while you are here so you will get to meet more people. Some of my neighbours are involved in HelpX too so often you get to meet other helpers.

I have wifi which you are able to use. There is mobile phone coverage if you are with Telstra or Aldi mobile, but please note other carriers do not work on my property.

I have travelled the world and enjoy meeting new people. I speak only English but am currently learning Spanish and am happy to practice it. I have done quite a bit of `couch surfing` and love the idea of meeting and helping out travellers. This time however, I need a bit of help around my property so thought HelpX would be prefect for me and hopefully perfect for you too.

I am mainly at the house on weekends or between Friday and Tuesdays, so only 2 to 4 nights are available at this stage. During the week I work in Melbourne and help my elderly mother. If you want to stay longer let me know as I have neighbours who also accept HelpX and if the dates fit they may accept you during the week. There may also be the opportunity for you to stay in Blackburn (Melbourne) with myself and my mother. There is always gardening and cleaning to do at Mum's house.

I also run folk music concerts in my house so may have a concert on while you are here. You will get to enjoy the music and help me on the day. I often have about 50 people coming to my concerts. I enjoy promoting live music and all the musicians are lovely people and fantastic performers, you will get to meet them. After the concert I host a dinner for about 20 people which you will be involved in. It is a lot of fun!

Thank you for reading to the end of my profile. If you are still interested in staying with me and helping in the garden send me a message. In that message I want you to mention my name (Bronwyn) and tell me if you play a musical instrument. In this way I can tell if you have read my profile and are serious about staying with me. I also would like to know more about you, have you lived on your own before or only with family? What type of work do you do at home, and anything else which will tell me more about you. Thank you and hope to hear from you.

reviews (22)
Helper: Chow and Brian Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hong Kong Date: June 3, 2019
Bronwyn is really an excellent, smart, careful, well prepared host who served... view complete review

Helper: Mia Liang Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: April 23, 2019
I planned to stay four days at Bronwynís, while it turned into more than four... view complete review

Helper: Leah Pendley Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: March 12, 2019
I donít know that I can add anything new that hasnít already been said, but I... view complete review

Helper: Yi chen Hung Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: March 12, 2019
I spent 2 weeks with Bronwyn and it was lovely. She is such an amazing host .... view complete review

Helper: Min zhang Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: February 28, 2018
Bronwyn is an amazing host,very organized and conciderate,she taught us a lot... view complete review

Helper: Jack Foureaux Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Sweden Date: February 14, 2018
I stayed with Bronwyn for 5 days. This was the best helpx I have done. Bronwy... view complete review

Helper: Yi-kuan Chiang Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: August 17, 2017
Sorry for the late review, Bronwyn. I stayed with Bronwyn for only 3 nights,... view complete review

Helper: Pil & Thi Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 28, 2017
We spent 4 pleasant days in the Bronwyn property. A very nice house, warm and... view complete review

Helper: Janine Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: May 30, 2017
This is a review for Bronwyn. I stayed with her for 3 days in May 2017 in her... view complete review

Helper: Veronica YUE Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: January 9, 2017
Sorry to review a little bit late. Staying in Bronwynís house is my first... view complete review

Helper: Yuan WU Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: December 22, 2016
Sorry to review late. It takes me two days to write this review because there... view complete review

Helper: Siyu Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Indonesia Date: December 20, 2016
If I had other choice,I won't give Bronwyn 5 star.Can I rate 500 star for he... view complete review

Helper: Sara and Danae Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: December 14, 2016
For us was a pleasure to share part of our experience with Bronwyn. She is ... view complete review

Helper: Meng Xin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: April 5, 2016
I was so lucky to stay with Bronwyn for 4days. It was too short! Bronwyn is ... view complete review

Helper: Asaf Goldenberg Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Israel Date: January 13, 2016
Bronwyn is absolutely great. She have beautiful new house. She is very kin... view complete review

Helper: Sophie Le Blanc Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 5, 2016
I had such a great time with Bronwyn!! Although I stayed with a different hos... view complete review

Helper: Zung-yue Tong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 21, 2015
I stayed with Bonwyn 4 Days at her lovely home. She introduced me very well t... view complete review

Helper: Alba and Julien Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: October 29, 2015
We met Bronwyn doing helpX for her neighbour, and from the first day we met s... view complete review

Helper: Meng-Hui Lin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: October 26, 2015
Bronwyn is very nice and hospitable! The house is awesome and cosy. If you ar... view complete review

Helper: Hazel Potterton Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: October 26, 2015
I didn't actually stay with Bronwyn, but I was working with some other HelpX... view complete review

Helper: Paula Lindahl Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Sweden Date: July 16, 2015
Bronwyn picked me up in Melbourne Friday morning. Went to help her with som... view complete review

Helper: Steven lanfranco Minero Re Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: June 22, 2015
I spent a really nice weekend with Bronwyn, she is very nice! One evening we... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use